Another software update for E71 – 410.21.010

Last week Nokia has released one more official software update for our beloved E71. New firmware – 410.21.010 should be available via Nokia Software Updater, or Nokia Ovi Suite 2 for most of devices. Please remember that for some product codes, especially those with operators’ customization, it may be available later.

Nevertheless, what’s inside? This update seems to be smaller bug-fixing and component updating release. It may help you with some stability issues plus having one of newest firmwares may be helpful in getting Ovi Maps with full drive and walk navigation for free. List of changes has been posted at E71 Fanatics blog in here.

P.S. Please keep in mind to make a full backup copy of your phone memory before you start updating your phone’s software.

13 Responses to “Another software update for E71 – 410.21.010”


  1. 1 subcorpus April 19, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    will check it out today …
    thanks for sharing the info …
    appreciated …

  2. 2 im eye April 26, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Ok…thats gone add on some new feature..and i hope it makes the e71 work much faster then….before…the updates are really in progress…these days..

  3. 3 inssi April 27, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Maybe we will need yeat another update: I tried tvkaista.com service, a great Finnish TV streaming service, but the reply came: “Invalid playlist file!”
    On any PC it works fine. Any idea what I could try next?

  4. 4 sweet May 2, 2010 at 2:31 am

    My E71 keeps shutting off/restarting ALL THE TIME as of recently. Sometimes it restarts itself, other times I have to manually turn it back on. I read somewhere that if there is space between the SIM card and the censor, the phone would reset, so I put a small piece of thick paper to ensure 100% contact all the time, but the phone still restarts/shuts off. Is this just me? Would updating the software fix this or is it going to make things worse? I don’t know what to do – the phone works SO well when it is on. It’s frustrating that sometimes it turns off or resets in the middle of texting and so forth. Or when I look at my phone and find that it’s turned off. PLEASE HELP

    • 5 inssi May 16, 2010 at 2:33 pm

      When I purchased my E71 (used), it did the same. It was not the SIM card holder – it was the battery terminals. Apparently the eBay vendor sold the device because it shuts down – he had dropped it seriously. By bending the gold terminals a little, the problem went away.

  5. 6 kris May 13, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    my phone would shut off sometimes too, but it restarted by itself. I think it is a common problem with E71s. I swapped my camera and menu buttons around. This is suppose to help the issue. It seems to work. As far as the latest update, my nokia email shows up like the old style again. Can’t get the new software to show my email.

  6. 7 GregB May 22, 2010 at 9:31 am

    When I use the Nokia Software Updater (I am in the UK) it says my phone has the latest version 300.21.012. Why isn’t 410.21.010 available?

    • 8 cheekychimp June 2, 2010 at 10:44 am

      Your service provider has not approved / or not aware of / or not interested in releasing the latest firmware version for it’s users.

      A solution is to change your product code of your phone to one which allows you to update to the latest firmware version. There are many instructions on the web on how to do this – just google it. Note the risks involved in doing so before proceeding.

  7. 9 inssi May 24, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Is there a detailed instruction how to change the kb layout? Mine is some European (may be Spanish), but I want to use U.S. layout. I already have installed the normal qwerty kb; it was awerty. Maybe the serial number is to be changed, too.

  8. 10 cell phone May 27, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    thanks sharing info, nice artikel
    I am very happy to read your articles, more useful for me especially
    I have the same thing with you. I am so very petrified of this in my lectures.

  9. 11 cheekychimp June 2, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I am on 400.21.013. My problem is that I cannot use the backspace key to delete more than one character quickly. This means I have to press the backspace key multiple times to delete multiple characters. On my previous N73 all I had to do was press the “C” cancel key continuously to delete multiple characters quickly.

    Will 410.21.010 solve my problem? Is anyone else having this problem?

  10. 12 superseko June 8, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    I’m currently on 300.21.012 and tried to update to 410.21.010. Downloaded the latest Ovi Suite and the software updater, however it stops at 15% saying that “nokia ovi suite has lost connection with your device” and wants me to turn off/ on the device and plug it again. I did that several times with no success and keep on thinking what might be the problem.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks!


  1. 1 Tweets that mention Another software update for E71 – 410.21.010 -- Topsy.com Trackback on April 19, 2010 at 2:12 pm
Comments are currently closed.




