New firmware 400.21.013 available!

As I have promised I will let you know if new official software for E71 will be available. Today I was texted by My Nokia service that new software is there. Nokia Software Updater tells the same. Please check your devices for 400.21.013 firmware and enjoy updating your phones! Remember, as usual the update may not be available for all product codes at once!

54 Responses to “New firmware 400.21.013 available!”


  1. 2 pm November 27, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    I have the product code 0569371 and still the Nokia Device software update page shows my latest version as 2 only.
    Latest available software for Nokia E71, product code 0569371
    Version: 200.21.118
    Any idea why this is so?

  2. 3 Chaosteil November 27, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Is the changelog somewhere available?

  3. 4 huub November 27, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Just found out about this by text-message. Working on the install right, will let you know the first details asap.

  4. 5 daniel November 27, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    what are the new features or updates?

  5. 6 Devsfunda November 27, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Made my phone faster and internet access is very fast with new update

  6. 7 Martijn November 27, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Thanks for the heads-up! Btw. check out http://opera.com/mobile/ The new Opera 10 browser is pretty cool in some areas.

  7. 8 huub November 27, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    I found this info on http://hunajatehdas.net/nokia/firmware/en/model:E71 with respect to the new changes for the 400.21.013 release (they’re still unofficial):

    E71 firmware 400.21.013 v6 Euro
    Not officially released, but here’s the changelog:
    NEW FUNCTIONALITIES:

    * Gimlet v9.5 (v9.5.3.72)
    * Quick Office 5.3
    * Ovi Store 1.5 (v1.5.2)
    * Ovi Contacts – Preinstalled
    * Mail for Exchange 2.9.176

    CHANGES AND IMPROVEMENTS:

    * Email Setup Wizard update
    * WLAN Corrections
    * Internet Radio v1.16 – Increased functionality
    * Camera functionality improvement
    * Incoming call hang issue fixed
    * Turkish SMS character input improvement
    * Many functionality and Stability improvements in MfE
    * Support for Russian and Ukranian keymats
    * Phone activation Baseline updated
    * Yahoo account hack fixed

    GENERAL

    * Stability and functionality improvements
    * Email and WLAN functionality improvements
    * Increased robustness in handling SMS and incoming calls
    * Memory leak fixes and crashes
    * Email and WLAN functionality improvements

    CALL HANDLING

    * Fix for Incoming call hang issue and fast call crash
    * Fix for making emergency call when the phone is locked

    CALENDAR/CLOCK

    * Minor Functionality improvements
    * Time display correction when the phone is locked

    CONNECTIVITY

    * WLAN functionality Improvements and fixes for crashes
    * Improvement in WLAN authentication
    * mVPN authentication improvements and general functionality improvement

    CONTACTS/PHONEBOOK

    * Functionality improvements for search functionality

    EMAIL

    * Email setup wizard updated
    * Fix for Yahoo account hack while setting up Gmail account through Nokia Email
    * Fix for mails getting duplicated after restoring backup
    * Mail for Exchange upgraded from 2.9.158 to 2.9.176
    * Many functionality and stability improvements in MfE
    * Robustness and functionality improvements in email items.

    INTERNET RADIO

    * Improved functionality
    * Increased application stability

    QWERTY KEYBOARD

    * Usability improvements
    * Keyboard mapping corrections for Russian and Ukranian keymat

    MESSAGING

    * Improvement in Turkish SMS characters input
    * Fix for delivery report for SMS with more than 22 characters
    * Increased robustness in handling SMS

  8. 9 huub November 27, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    E71 firmware 400.21.013 v6 Euro
    Not officially released, but here’s the changelog:
    NEW FUNCTIONALITIES:

    * Gimlet v9.5 (v9.5.3.72)
    * Quick Office 5.3
    * Ovi Store 1.5 (v1.5.2)
    * Ovi Contacts – Preinstalled
    * Mail for Exchange 2.9.176

    CHANGES AND IMPROVEMENTS:

    * Email Setup Wizard update
    * WLAN Corrections
    * Internet Radio v1.16 – Increased functionality
    * Camera functionality improvement
    * Incoming call hang issue fixed
    * Turkish SMS character input improvement
    * Many functionality and Stability improvements in MfE
    * Support for Russian and Ukranian keymats
    * Phone activation Baseline updated
    * Yahoo account hack fixed

    GENERAL

    * Stability and functionality improvements
    * Email and WLAN functionality improvements
    * Increased robustness in handling SMS and incoming calls
    * Memory leak fixes and crashes
    * Email and WLAN functionality improvements

    CALL HANDLING

    * Fix for Incoming call hang issue and fast call crash
    * Fix for making emergency call when the phone is locked

    CALENDAR/CLOCK

    * Minor Functionality improvements
    * Time display correction when the phone is locked

    CONNECTIVITY

    * WLAN functionality Improvements and fixes for crashes
    * Improvement in WLAN authentication
    * mVPN authentication improvements and general functionality improvement

    CONTACTS/PHONEBOOK

    * Functionality improvements for search functionality

    EMAIL

    * Email setup wizard updated
    * Fix for Yahoo account hack while setting up Gmail account through Nokia Email
    * Fix for mails getting duplicated after restoring backup
    * Mail for Exchange upgraded from 2.9.158 to 2.9.176
    * Many functionality and stability improvements in MfE
    * Robustness and functionality improvements in email items.

    INTERNET RADIO

    * Improved functionality
    * Increased application stability

    QWERTY KEYBOARD

    * Usability improvements
    * Keyboard mapping corrections for Russian and Ukranian keymat

    MESSAGING

    * Improvement in Turkish SMS characters input
    * Fix for delivery report for SMS with more than 22 characters
    * Increased robustness in handling SMS

  9. 10 Boo November 28, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Is it hackable ?

  10. 12 jocc November 28, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Hello all,
    With the new firmware I miss the internal memory check option, only the card can be examed? Anyone else?

  11. 13 ajikoe November 28, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    If you have updated your phone, I really need to hear your experiance…
    Any improvements?

    Thanks.
    Pujo

  12. 14 comradewolf November 29, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    thanks for updating us.

  13. 15 dzeno November 29, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    I have a E71 from vodafone but unlocked and on another network!
    I have a 300.21.12. firmware so will it be problem for me to update to new firmware over Nokia update software????
    I tried but it say to me that there is on update for my phone,should i wait for all product codes?
    Will someone want to explain me!??

    Thanks very much in advance!

    • 16 boggdy December 30, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      You can change your product code and then try again. Because you got your phone from Vodafone, it has vodafone’s product code and maybe the update is not for that specific product code.

  14. 17 huub November 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    My first reaction after updating; my phone seems to be be a bit slow(er) sometimes, but that could be my imagination.
    I didnt really notice any changes yet, except from the pre-installed applications which are available after updating. I also (as most do) did the re-cover backup option to bring back all my old settings, configurations, messages, most of my applicatiosn (unfortunately Nokia then still doesnt bring back all my prviously installed app’s), etc.
    So in that way I havent had a clear look at any new features or improvements. To find out if the camera is improved, one needs to do a check by making 2 photo’s from 1 object, at the same time, and under the same circumstances. One phone obvisouly being the E71 300.xx version, the other one being the E71 400.xx version. Otherwise it’s impossible to compare any possible camera, like what happened with the previous update comparison.

    If I find anything new, ill let you guys know.

  15. 18 Pujo November 30, 2009 at 10:08 am

    I would like to know about the pre installed program lika advance caller manager, is it available after the firmware update.

  16. 19 Windux November 30, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Hi All

    i just finish to update my E71 to this new firmware, and must agree with huub, the phone is realy slower then 300.x version. i´ll check now if any (usefull) improvement justify the update…

    cheers

  17. 20 huub November 30, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    @ Pujo; what is the advanced call manager? Under what menu is that to be found in the v300.x release?

  18. 21 Pujo November 30, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    @Huub
    I have firmware 200.21.118. In application menu I have an advanced caller manager. A useful program to accept or reject call according to white or black list. I’m afraid if I will lose it if I update the firmware

  19. 22 huub December 1, 2009 at 11:32 am

    @ Pujo; there’s a change you might loose it. Before doing the firmware update, always make a backup. However, that doesnt guarantee you that previously installed apps will be re-installed once you do the recover backup option when the firmware update is done.
    However, you can always re-install the software from your pc, right?

  20. 23 ajikoe December 1, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    @huub: I don’t think I can reinstall the software from the pc. Since:
    1. I use os mac
    2. If I have a pc, then the backup software that comes with the nokia only backup data not application… What do you think?

  21. 24 gt December 2, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    @ Pujo

    You can download Advanced Call Manager for free from nokia Website (please note that it’s available for free only for E71 users)

    http://www.nokia.co.uk/get-support-and-software/product-support/nokia-e71/software

    Sorry but I don’t know if it works on v400 firmware

  22. 25 ajikoe December 3, 2009 at 3:46 am

    @Huub:
    Thanks for your information, it is really great news….
    I will wait if there is more news about advanced caller manager in v400 firmware before updating mine.

  23. 27 Vlad December 4, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Hi ajikoe,
    advanced call manager is still ok with the new firmware 400 21 013.
    Anyway, it is right you can download it at anytime on nokia website.
    But I’m really ANGRY because the phone is now very very slow !!!
    I’m just wondering if Nokia tried this new firmware before the official launch !!!
    If I could I would come back to the oldest firmware. The new Nokia chat app is not interesting at all.

    Greetings from Paris

  24. 28 ajikoe December 6, 2009 at 10:49 am

    @Vlad: I’m sorry to hear that the update makes your E71 becomes slow.

    From the previous responses it is clear that this update will make the phone slower.

    I guess you can not revert back your firmware because it will destroy your phone.

  25. 29 Bart December 6, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I still cant download the new V400 version.. i have the V300 installed 2 weeks ago? Why can’t i download it? Nokia Software update sais that the latest version for my phone V300 is…

  26. 30 Edwin December 8, 2009 at 1:05 am

    I have an Asian E71-1 with a product code of 0560654 and when running the software updater, it tells me my firmware version is 110.01.127 and the available version is 400.21.013 but try as I may, it just would not update my firmware.

    Right now, I am experiencing some problems with my phone. Each time it starts up, it’s very slow so updating the firmware may be a solution.

    Have also tried to reset the device to factory default before trying but still not effect.

    Anyone out there can help, would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks in advance.

  27. 31 huub December 9, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Is it perhaps an idea to open a thread/topic on the Nokia forums somewhere, post a link to that thread on this website, such that all of us can join that Nokia thread, and reply/report to Nokia as feedback that the v400 firmware is very slow?

    In that way they might improve any possible new (v500) firmware releases … in the end, if they don’t find out about this bug which appears to affect all users who upgraded to v400, they perhaps might never do anything to improve it ….

  28. 33 TTS December 13, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Slower!!!! definetly

    Unhackable- FOR NOW- sucks!!!

    I want back!!!!

  29. 34 Jib Halyard December 15, 2009 at 4:21 am

    i installed the v400 firmware too, and now i wish i hadn’t. i can’t seem to install signed .sis applications that installed and ran OK with the v300 firmware. i even got an error message saying “required application access not granted”. something’s not right and i don’t like it.
    i just want my old phone back….

  30. 35 Jib Halyard December 15, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    the new firmware returns “required application access not granted” error messages when i try to install singed sis apps that worked perfectly on the 300 version.
    am i the only one experiencing this problem?
    very frustrating. i just want my old phone back

  31. 36 Craig December 18, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    To Jib Halyard
    I think you might need to go into your App Manager and change the settings from Signed Only to ALL
    Good luck
    Craig

    • 37 Jib Halyard December 20, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      Craig,
      I did set my app manager settings to All. that’s the most basic step when installing an app. i also tried rolling back the date a year or so, which sometimes does the trick for signed applications. all to no avail. i simply cannot make it install.
      the programs in question are appswitch 103 and YaPN (more info at http://thinkabdul.com/2008/05/03/yapn-http-proxy-to-change-nokia-s60-browser-user-agent-wap-profile/). i am not sure what capability these programs use that would result in a “required application access not granted” error, but it was not a problem in the 300 version of the firmware. only the 400.

  32. 38 ldpeak December 24, 2009 at 5:29 am

    Anyone have problems with backup to PC. My v.400 doesn’t seem to support that function. Any help?

  33. 39 Richheart December 28, 2009 at 9:00 am

    I have 300 and was waiting anxiously for 400 to become available in Israel.
    When I updated from 200 and reinstalled my applications via restore, I noticed that my phone is slower.
    I now believe that the best thing to do after a firmware upgrade is to restore calendar and contacts but to reinstall from scratch: settings and programs. I see that my phone is showing firmware as 300 but is accessing some references to 100 at startup.
    Before I go ahead and reinstall as suggested above, has anyone else tried?

    • 40 huub December 28, 2009 at 4:31 pm

      @ Richheart

      I have no idea (since I havent tried your suggestion), but it sounds to me like a good idea to do/try.

  34. 41 sony January 5, 2010 at 7:23 am

    Hi this is Sony, Admin mynokiamobile.org. Shell we exchange links?

    mynokiamobile.org is a PR 4 site.

    Contact me if you are interested.

    Thank you!

  35. 42 Patrick January 12, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I installed firmware 400 xxxx It has been disastrous – I don’t want OVI contacts which interferes with my contacts database, but it is “Pre-installed” !!
    Also my wifi setup [to receive google mail] is now impossible.
    I wish I could revert to 300.21.012

    • 43 Taurus February 16, 2010 at 6:14 pm

      I’m having the same problem: since updating from firmware version 300.x to 400.x none of my data connections work anymore: 3G data connections, GPRS, or even Wifi connections. Is there a way to revert to the previous version, or to reinstall the same firmware? The Ovi Suite won’t let me reinstall it…

      • 44 Taurus February 16, 2010 at 8:46 pm

        In the latest version of Ovi Suite there is an option to reinstall the latest firmware, but this doesn’t work: when starting, it mentions “The phone will disconnect and reconnect when using USB” but from the moment it disconnects, the program stops with an error “Device connection lost”: so what now? When trying to use a Bluetooth connection with the phone, I don’t get the option to reinstall the firmware. So I’m stuck now! Any suggestions?

  36. 45 Andi February 10, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Hi friend, Nice blog dedicated to E71 my previous favourite phone. (currently I have switched to E72).
    Good Luck!
    and you are welcome to check my website and comment:
    NokiaMaps.WordPress.com

  37. 46 Kashif February 19, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    can any one help me to hach the new v 400xxxxx .
    please help
    muhmd.kashif@gmail.com

  38. 47 Reijo March 1, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Hi,

    I updated the phone. Bad news is that all previously installed applications are gone. I took the backup and restored it but. Ít restored something as the theme is same etc. but not the apps.. 😦

    I do not see any difference when using the phone (so far).

    Regards

  39. 48 Faris March 3, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Did anyone have issues using the secondary camera after the upgrade to v400.x?

  40. 49 O. March 10, 2010 at 12:03 am

    @taurus 16 feb.

    I have the exact same problem. When i was updating the connection kept getting lost and afterward I got a error saying that the update couldnt be completed because of a connection error (during the process the phone kept connecting and disconnectin the whole time). After restarting v4 was installes anyway, but everything is really slow now. Its really getting on my nerves !!!

  41. 50 Blue March 15, 2010 at 4:18 am

    Hack E71 v400.xxx
    1. register and get your “certificate and key” from here…. http://cer.opda.cn/en/index.php (1day before you can download the key and cer)
    2. download “SignSis v1.03” and “HelloOX2 v2.03 unsigned”
    3. sign “HelloOX2” with “certificate and key” from opda using “SignSis”
    4. for PC sync download new PC Suite, then click on help and install additional application to phone (some kind like that) after that u will don’t have any problem with PC suite.
    5. Run “setting wizard” from your phone and choose “Operator” to get your data connection back.

    Hope that help…

  42. 51 askmobilephone June 15, 2010 at 4:42 am

    good info… I’ll try…
    thanks


  1. 1 Tweets that mention New firmware 400.21.013 available! « Nokia e71 blog -- Topsy.com Trackback on November 27, 2009 at 2:09 pm
  2. 2 uberVU - social comments Trackback on November 27, 2009 at 2:19 pm
  3. 3 Nokia e71 bugs and a software update | tech Shit Trackback on December 20, 2009 at 7:49 pm
Comments are currently closed.




