Nokia Messaging 1.1 with HTML support

Today Nokia has released Nokia Messaging client, finally supporting HTML-formatted mails. Official Messaging Team announcement informs that current build includes following changes and improvements:
– support for Windows Live Hotmail email addresses,
– support for HTML-formatted emails,
– advanced email server settings configuration on http://email.nokia.com,
– support for 18 S60 devices in 17 languages,
– client and service performance improvements.

My impression regarding HTML support is quite good. Even if sometimes displaying a fully formatted e-mail takes several seconds, basically because of graphics downloading, it looks good. I think this is something what you were often asking for, so I’d happy to read your comments? Personally I have already encountered one problem – accessing e-mail addresses from my address book records having more than one.

P.S. Thanks to one of blog readers for information about this announcement.

14 Responses to “Nokia Messaging 1.1 with HTML support”


  1. 1 pean April 2, 2009 at 11:55 am

    I tried downloading it but only got the 0.9.somthing version.. where can I find 1.1?

  2. 2 dr_klin April 2, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Go to nokia email. I dont know adress but type it in google.
    tara

  3. 3 Eduardo April 3, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    Just a question. Is the Nokia Messaging 1.1 the version I’ve downloaded 9.05(41) or this is not the version I need? I’ve added a hotmail account and it says I have to upgrade the version of the NM in order to receive email from that account, even though I’ve downloades the 9.95(41) version.
    Please help!

  4. 4 Hilmar Gudmundsson April 3, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    I want to try Nokia Messaging. I was wondering if I always connect to a server outside of my country if I have this service. Does anyone know that?

    I am in Iceland.

  5. 5 stoodi April 3, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    if you have version 9.05 … This is ok, version numbers are different. Check if you have option to set HTML view.
    For me font on mail list is to small or should be option to set it bigger 🙂 like before.

  6. 6 Antonio April 3, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I like the feature of HTML emails but there is a lot to improve yet:
    – easy selection of links to visit
    – eliminate automatic move of email, just normal scroll please

  7. 7 kmt April 4, 2009 at 4:19 am

    I just picked up an unlocked E71 a few days ago. How is this different than the already installed email functionality that came with the phone originally? Do the two email apps sit side-by-side, or would you somehow deactivate the original?

  8. 8 James April 5, 2009 at 12:02 am

    It looks like Nokia is trying to compete with RIM and Apple by setting up a push email service, which is badly needed if they want to survive in North America. This means Nokia is connecting to your email account from their servers and then sending emails to your phone when a new one comes in. The idea being that it saves your battery life. But all those connections can make things very slow.

    I wasn’t able to use it with Gmail or MobileMe reliably. It would take hours to download new messages, if it did at all. However with my work’s imap mail server it takes less than a minute for an email to automatically download.

    The way RIM does it is to give each Blackberry its own email address and they just forward what they recieve on to the Blackberry. Nokia is trying to go out and fetch everything for all their users, and then pass it on to the phone. But they’re not doing so well at the fetching part.

    Moving on to the app its self…

    This app’s interface is a HUGE improvement over the built-in mail app, and its much easier to read email. The new HTML view is better than plain text, but it needs some work. When you need to click on “show images,” it is very slow to load them. When it does load images within the email, I’ve seen a few images with odd banding at a 45 degree angle. Maybe Nokia will eventually make something that can actually compete with blackberries.

  9. 9 Daniel April 6, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    How do you stop this app displaying emails on the home screen under the apps? Please help as this is bugging the hell outta me.

  10. 10 lisa May 4, 2009 at 5:47 am

    I was wondering how to cancel my hotmail account on my nokia pls help me

  11. 11 leon May 5, 2009 at 9:59 am

    It works great but only receiving mail, if your provider is Vodafone you need a secure smtp server login but in the web interface there is no way for a login for the Authsmtp.vodafone.nl server.
    Could this be done? it looks like an program thats better than the exchangeversion (only text)


  1. 1 Car, Motor, Tuning, Tuned, Bike, Free Wallpapers » Blog Archive » Nokia Messaging 1.1 with HTML support Trackback on April 2, 2009 at 12:43 am
  2. 2 HTML Mail op Nokia E71 - Pocketinfo forum Trackback on April 15, 2009 at 7:08 pm
  3. 3 HTML Mail op Nokia E71 | Mobilyz.com Trackback on September 6, 2009 at 7:46 am
Comments are currently closed.




