Official announcement of software 210.21.006 for E71

Today  new software for E71 has been officially announced and commented on NSU page:

This software release enhances general software maturity and stability. The software release includes: stability and functionality improvements in the following areas: browser, camera, calendar, messaging and VoiP. This software release is available through the Nokia Software Updater: www.nokia.com/softwareupdates. Please note that if you have encrypted your device or memory card, decrypt it before the software update to avoid possible data loss.

31 Responses to “Official announcement of software 210.21.006 for E71”


  1. 1 Fraser Smith March 19, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I hoped this would improve stability because the last update used to crash my E71 once or twice a week. It may be more stable, time will tell but it has screwed up a lot in the process.

    Exchange : No longer connects. Need to re-create profile.

    Shozu : Disappeared. had to download and reinstall.

    JBakTaskman : Disappeared, wouldn’t re-install until I downloaded it again.

    Emoze : Disappeared. Expect I’ll need to download again.

    FreeTimeSync : Disappeared and refuses to install (Certificate error). I expect I’ll have to download and sign it again.

    And I thought a backup was a backup? Clearly not.

    Fraser

  2. 2 J March 19, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    just did an update… still no way to switch off the camera sound… (if anyone knows a working workaround…pls let me know. This might be against the law in Finland, but where I life, you are allowed to take silent pictures.).
    On the brighter side: I just set the alarm, switched my E71 off, and lo and behold: snooze functionality seems to work again. The last firmware had a bug which left the phone in a deep slumber after the first snooze.

  3. 4 Fletch March 20, 2009 at 1:18 am

    I;m yet to see an update. When I run the software update it tells me that my device(E71 RM-357) is already up to date.
    I would like to update because I’m getting tired of my phone constant resets brought by the last two updates.

    Hopefully this new update will bring the phone to a more stable state. Otherwise I will have to start looking for a more stable replacement :(.

  4. 5 Baglog March 20, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    The URL goes to Europe, any clue if this works on the NAM version? I just got this phone and with email going my battery life feels really poor, especially compared to my blackberry I “upgraded” from.

  5. 6 Chrizz March 22, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Received the information about new available Firmware today. Tried couple of times to download and install it but always error messages from NSU appears. Annoying!

    Will try it 2morrow.

  6. 7 TeePee March 23, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I just got my new E71 yesterday and I was told the E71 support A2DP blue tooth standard, I have a wireless headset, Creative SE2300 which is a A2DP headset but somehow I am unable to get my E71 to connects to this SE2300.

    When the E71 search and found the SE2300, it asked for a passcode of the SE2300. I don’t have a passcode for the SE2300, it is just a blue tooth headset and not a device that I can set the passcode on the SE2300 to pair with the E71.

    Please help… I wanted to match these 2 so that I can listen to music via wireless bluetooth.

  7. 8 pramit March 23, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    new phone purchased Nokia E71

  8. 9 Tim March 23, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Hello,

    TeePee, try the pass code 0000 or 1234.

    Cheers, Tim.

  9. 10 Baglog March 23, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    I was able to flash my North America phone this weekend, and I am definitely a happier camper. The battery life is much improved, for starters, even with bluetooth and exchange running all the time. I have had no disconnect issues with exchange so far, so that is positive. The interface also seems to be more responsive in general.

  10. 11 gt March 24, 2009 at 8:53 am

    After update, in bundle application “Windows Live” stopped working (when you click on it nothing appears).

    Tried after hard reset too.

    Anyone could confirm?

  11. 12 NJ March 24, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Hi

    I did the upgrade this morning, but ran into a serious problem.
    After the first attempt there was some error, the updater stated that it is cancelling the update and that I should try again. During this process the phone rebooted and got stuck at the start-up.
    The screen now displays the Nokia logo at the bottom, and the words “mode” twice in the middle of the screen and a whole bunch of numbers, “RM345EN074110842.a34” at the top of the screen.
    I am unable to switch the phone off, only able to do this by removing the battery. When I switch it on again after a while, the same screen appears.

    Is there any way to hard reset the phone manually?

    Any suggestions would be appreciated!

  12. 13 Chrizz March 25, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Tried it several times after my first note. It sill breaks up while trying 2 download the updates. Started phone several times new but it still keeps hangin’ while trying 2 update.

  13. 14 gt March 26, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    answering to myself:

    I needed to reinstall “Nokia_Internet_Services_Support_Package.SIS”

  14. 15 NJ March 27, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I had to take my phone back to my service provider to have it repaired. They also let me know that they were not able to get it fixed and had to send the phone back to Nokia so they can repair it… Dammit!

  15. 16 prox March 30, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    For folks still having Bluetooth problems (pairing, disconnecting, etc.), anyone know if this new update solves any of them?

    Either way, I will probably upgrade tonight 🙂

    – Mark

  16. 17 Fei March 30, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    I updated the firmware.The camera is better than before,specifically in some dark situation.

  17. 19 Chrizz March 31, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Updated yesterday evening. No problems so far. photos seem to be better than before. camera is working propperly and without any delay (not more than before). software version 200.21.118 Product-code: 0570273

  18. 20 Chrizz March 31, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    … but: how comes, that the latest available software on nokia.com ist version 110.07.127??? Anybody an idea?

  19. 21 Gabriel April 6, 2009 at 8:17 am

    Guys i hust updated my E71 to version:210.21.006. not much of a diference. the e71 is the best and is fast. it doesn hang at all. no problem at all. remembr wen ur updating ur phone, do it thru the Pc its much faster and safer. its around 101mb so it’l tak around 20 mins if ur internet is fast.
    cheers

  20. 22 BC April 11, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    This update screwed my phone as well.
    Wiped all of my email setings.. total f*ck story.
    Don’t do it.
    bc

  21. 23 Bert April 15, 2009 at 7:23 am

    The bluetooth handfree disconnect is NOT resolved.
    And I felt the battery life is shortened!

  22. 24 Dilip April 24, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Hi,
    I live in India. I upgraded my E71 to 210.21.006, two days back. Before up-grading, I backed-up as instructed. When I restored, Contacts, Notes and Calender entries were not restored.

    With older version I had the problem of Blue-tooth disconnection and re-connection and the same continues with the new version also.

    Can some tech guy help me out.

    Thanks in advance.

  23. 25 hs April 26, 2009 at 5:08 am

    when i run NSU, why is it that the newest firmware version is 200, and not 210?

    • 26 Frederik April 29, 2009 at 1:06 pm

      Same problem… I have 200.21.118 installed now and when i connect with NSU it says that i’ve already have the lastest firmware installed.

  24. 27 ian April 29, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I recently upgraded and the nokia phone switch on my E71 won’t synch with another nokia phone. On the original firmware, it can synch. need help…it tried the bluetooth pairing. Thanks

  25. 28 imran May 1, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I upgraded the phone to new version..Its total F****ed up..WLan doesnt get connected…searching the net for some solution is all waste untill now..!!

  26. 29 Shoan May 7, 2009 at 3:03 am

    I upgrade the firmware last weekend. The only problem right now is that I am not able to share the WLAN connection between multiple applications. This was working perfectly before the update.

    Does anybody have any idea on how to get back the old functionality?

  27. 30 Sharath June 1, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Please don’t restore the setting from the backup Restore only the contact and other stuff. there seems some issue with restoring of setting. I had same Wlan issue and i solved it with out restoring setting from my backup .

    This upgrade is the pathetic one i have seen from nokia.

    Any Comment from Nokia?????

  28. 31 sergio July 13, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Hello!
    I have an e71, with a 100.xx FW…. I can’t use the 3G networks… When I configure the network on “dual”, the phone detects the 3G network with full signal… but I cant make any calls or use the internet. When I try to call the phone shows a “network error” message…. Then, when I switch the network configuration from “dual” to “GSM” all works perfect: I can make calls and connect to the internet…
    Does anyone have a similar problem?? Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.




