Synchronize your E71 contacts with Google

As I’m personally not all ‘G-services’ user most probably I wouldn’t discover it by myself. Nevertheless I think that many blog readers might find it interesting. What am I talking about? Google  now allows synchronizing Symbian S60 devices (including E71) with their contact book. The one you use for Gmail and some other services. The solution is now as simply as synchronizing your contacts with your local machine, Nokia Ovi service, or any other SyncML provider. Full screenshot illustrated instruction can be found on Marcus’s blog. (Thanks for this link!) As Marcus also has checked, it is not yet supporting calendar synchronization.

8 Responses to “Synchronize your E71 contacts with Google”


  1. 1 Bilgin February 11, 2009 at 1:29 am

    If they integrate proper calendar syncing, and perhaps improve their dreadful tasks application then I might turn full on to gmail and scrap outlook all together.

    I tried the contacts sync though and I must say it works just fine.

  2. 2 nao February 11, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Anyone tried to synchronize contacts and calendar? i would like to know it would merge things before attempting them on mine. Thank you

  3. 3 markus February 11, 2009 at 9:42 am

    hi nao,

    the calendar sync is working but just one way and not 2 way, sooner or later it will work on both ways.

    Cheers
    Markus

  4. 4 Søren February 11, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Thats amazing. I’ve been looking for a tool like that recently. Found only old apps which had certificate problems. This is really nice.. Thanx for a superb blog btw..

  5. 5 Avx1 March 10, 2009 at 11:15 am

    My desktop sync. companion is Outlook (amazing isn’t it).
    My web sync. companion is OVI (by Nokia)

    I don’t think I need more.
    Am I missing something ?

  6. 6 CHAD20 May 15, 2010 at 6:51 am

    Yes, Avx1, it’s amazing that you are relying on Outlook which you cannot carry everywhere you go. While Gmail and its contacts can be reached from Copocabana to Tombuctu. Cheers.

  7. 7 Andrew M June 30, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    I’ve been looking for this for ages, and it works perfectly, thanks heaps!


Comments are currently closed.




