What is your favorite IM client for E71 (or S60)?

While I was posting about new Nimbuzz I thought this is a very good idea for a poll. What do you use for instant messaging on your E71 or S60 devices maybe? For sure E71 is chatting friendly device, so what is your favorite app? Any others then listed? Leave a comment please.

28 Responses to “What is your favorite IM client for E71 (or S60)?”


  1. 1 skykid January 30, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Mine is fring. On my cell I have the rest to – but am using mainly fring for its excellent support of Voip and Skype.

  2. 2 Jarle January 30, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Mine is Fring. I hate the user interface but the power consumption is in another league then other IM clients. I always tries other IM clients but return to Fring every time.

  3. 3 Molokov January 30, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    I don’t use IM much on my E71, but recently installed Gizmo (the default “Internet Telephone” client from the Download! store) to use for VOIP/SIP and Google Talk.

    I did try Fring out, but when you have over 100 MSN contacts who don’t use their real names for their display names, it can get frustrating trying to work out who is who… plus Fring didn’t seem to be able to a) rename contacts or b) hide offline contacts, and the font contrast on my background was impossible to read.

    Somehow I think using IM on my phone isn’t really that important – If I’m not near a computer, I can afford to not bother with IM – I can send sms’s or call people if need be šŸ™‚

  4. 4 Serg January 31, 2009 at 12:09 am

    It’s Slick from Lonely Cat games http://www.lonelycatgames.com/?app=slick free and 6 protocols and fast

  5. 5 Hiro January 31, 2009 at 1:44 am

    Mine is e-buddy, i’ve tried all other IM apps like nimbuzz and fring but oftenly the app failed to download my friends lists. Only e buddy is the one that never let’s me down, plus it connects with facebook chat also.. You should try it!

  6. 6 James January 31, 2009 at 3:58 am

    I use Ebuddy. I haven’t tried anything else, but it’s fine.

  7. 7 Ethan January 31, 2009 at 4:47 am

    I use OctroTalk for Google Chat

  8. 8 Symbian Underground January 31, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    My favorite IM clients are IM+ and Slick.

    My favorite combined IM/VoIP apps are Nimbuzz and fring. I use both of them. Nimbuzz has better sound, but when Nimbuzz can’t connect through firewalled Wi-Fi networks I use fring, because fring can often connect through firewalls where Nimbuzz can not.

  9. 9 Holger February 1, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    i use jimm for ICQ Chats only.

  10. 10 daclaus February 2, 2009 at 9:45 am

    LCG Slick.
    Straight and simple IM messenger that does what it’s supposed to do: Send and receive messages, without any skype or voip addition that I don’t need.

    And it’s free.

  11. 11 Stephen February 2, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I personally use MSN, only because it comes free as a service with the 3 network. One cannot knock free IM’ing when without a data bundle.

  12. 12 Ashish February 2, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Can anyone comment on the battery life/drain of these IM clients? Which has better battery life when leaving the application on at all times?

    Thanks in advance for your thoughts. If this has already been addressed, I apologize for not searching first.

  13. 13 Balie February 3, 2009 at 6:35 am

    out of all the options, i personally feel Fring is the best. fring has got the skype compatibility which helped me so far to call any outside my country at no cost. I jus have my GPRS activated…

  14. 14 Waldo Dimberg February 3, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    nokia contacs from nokia betalabs.

    great for chatting with googletalk and ovi contacts.

  15. 15 Poulpy February 4, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    I’m looking for an IM client which would be able to connect throug an HTTP proxy. Have you got any clues ?

    Thanks

  16. 16 Mingle February 5, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Staying on the topic, I use mig33. Pity it isn’t in the vote list.

  17. 17 jchome February 8, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I do like Slick, hence it doesn’t support multiple Jabber Accounts. šŸ™‚

  18. 18 little_star February 10, 2009 at 4:07 am

    my favorite is slick šŸ˜€

  19. 19 Eduardo Farias February 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    For me is Fring, but I don’t know why Fring doesn’t have “see user profile” feature.

    Sometimes is difficult to discover who “jack” is!

  20. 20 Jim M. February 23, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Jack is the guy you met 7 years ago, and you still wonder why you have it in your contact list on every device you upgrade and all over your IM’s.

    For me, i use fring…

    By the way, can you please stop posting nice topics, am having a hard time focusing on my studies…

  21. 21 betabug March 5, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    mIRGGI – IRC beats all these new protocols when it comes to low data transmission and low energy usage. It’s also more like ‘hanging out with a couple of friends’ and less like ‘feeling controlled if i’m online’.

  22. 22 Fei March 30, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    MSN and QQ is very famous in China.

  23. 23 Andy April 16, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    IM+ is the best I’ve tried out there. It lets you log into multiple accounts on multiple services.

  24. 24 Dale July 10, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I needed a combined Jabber, Yahoo and MSN IM client, based on this the best for me is definately Slick (I have tried several others) …

  25. 25 jajano September 23, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    i’m using im for 24hours nonstop on my nokia E71,
    nimbuzz is the best…it can support all major im client,such as msn,ym,gtalk,skype,facebook,myspace,twitter,jabber,ect..
    also i can make a free call using nimbuzz, and i can send files for other nimbuzz users not as a link,but the real files are downloadable.

    i ever use other im such as slick(super battery drainer,i can’t even have my battery fully charge when slick on background), fring(bad interface,can’t hide offline contacts,no emoticons),palringo(also a battery drainer and lack of emoticons), ebuddy(unstabble connection), mig33(is a java- i don’t like the interface), im+(not free).

  26. 26 gellepon December 25, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Please,tell me if someone knows some im clients for s60 with the support of avatars in the contact list(like that in nimbuzz)
    thanks

  27. 27 heru priadi July 14, 2010 at 3:23 am

    i like nimbuzz coz veri powerfull

  28. 28 Alex July 15, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Nimbuzz je zakon


Comments are currently closed.




