Video ringtones on E71?

Do you use video ringtones on your E71? I admit I haven’t used it so far. One of blog readers sent me a link to his video ringtone based on Metal Solid Gear theme. If you are interested in check it on You Tube.

If you like it you can download one of versions: 320×240 3GP file , or 320×183 3GP file optimized for SkyCaller Pro application as the author said. I’m curious how many users of E71 are using pictures attached to phonebook contacts (I do) or video ringtones?

10 Responses to “Video ringtones on E71?”


  1. 1 misko January 28, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I once attached picture to one of my contacts, but when that contact called me, I saw just a small picture. Is that possible to change to some bigger size? 🙂

    Btw nice blog 😉

  2. 2 nao January 29, 2009 at 2:38 am

    i use picture as my caller id. but the thumbnail is more like a *pinky*nail. it’s so tiny and you can hardly see who’s in the pix.

    how exactly do you set a video ringtone?

  3. 3 Kimmo January 29, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Haha! I’m so all over this one! =D Thanks for the link!

  4. 4 danuputra February 4, 2009 at 8:52 am

    how do i use a video ringtones ? can you explain it to me..

  5. 5 Donny February 19, 2009 at 6:01 am

    Dude I LOVE MGS! And this video ringtone will be the very FIRST I’ve ever used! WICKED>!

    Anyone have this for the N85?!

  6. 6 Patrick_R April 6, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I use this a fair bit, for a SELECT number of contacts in my phone, mainly my family members, but I have to confess, the ONLY reason I do this, is because of the TINY TINY thumbnail image FP1 devices show on static caller id’s (FP2 devices get real proper full screen images).

    So I therefore use personally created Video Ringtone files for my family, children, partner etc.

    A fair bit of work goes into each of these mind you, so it’s time consuming.

    As what I actually do, is many stepped…

    …First I resize some STILL images of the relevant contact down to 640×480 (oversize for what they will eventually end up, but smaller than the original hi-res photos).

    …I then use an art package to add some text to each of these saying something like “Joanne calling” for example, for my partner.

    … Then I use Microsoft “Photo Story” to take all these STILL images, and make them into a more ‘moving’ video format, by using fade, and zoom in/out transitions between the images. I aslo add a relevant piece of backround music/ringtone, for each contact at this point.

    …Then I have Microsoft Photo Story save this finished ‘video’ file as a .wmv video.

    …Finally, I then use Nokia Video Manager to convert it to a high quality .mp4 video file that the phone can actually use, and then copy over to my phone.

    This leaves me with an ideal video file to use as my contact caller image/video ringtone, for each caller I do this for.

    A LOT of work involved in order to achieve this, but I’m picky like that.

    You could simply use ANY relevant video file you find or have, as long as it’s a format the phone can see (.mp4 medium quality is usually a safe bet).

    As to the post asking HOW you set these… simple… just set a ringtone like you would for any other contact, and when the list pops of for you to scroll through, for which file to use, VIDEO files that are compatible are automatically also listed alongside the normal audio files of ringtones.

    Just choose a suitable video file, and voila – when that caller rings, that video file, and it’s own ‘audio’ will be displayed, for that caller.
    _

    On a personal note, I can tell you all now that every different Nokia handles the display of the incoming video, differently…

    The 6120 Classic, displays the very best incoming caller video, as it does it almost full screen, with almost no ‘white area’ around the side of the video displayed. It does however, NOT like video of too high a quality, given it’s processor, and lack of 3D engine maybe.

    The N95 on the other hand, displays things much the same, BUT with a bit of white area around the video for some reason. BUT it can handle higher quality/size video files.

    The E71, with it’s landscape screen orientation, does things different again, in that it shrinks the video file even smaller, and displays it in a special sized box, when a call comes in. This makes the video quite small, compared to it’s actual size, and how other Nokia phones show it, BUT has the end effect of making the quality look sharper and better – so overall I actually like it like this.

    Finally, SOME Nokias, such as the E90 Communicator I have, DO NOT SUPPORT video ringtones at all, even on the latest firmware.

    Hope this info is useful to you all though.

    Email me if you need more info:

    patrick [at] rices.me.uk

    (no spaces etc)

  7. 7 ankit September 12, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    can anyone plzzzzzz tell
    me

    how to set video as ringtone on nokia n73

    plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  8. 8 Patrick_R September 13, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Ankit…

    Nokia N73 came out long long before Nokia starting offering/supporting Video Ringtones mate.

    If you do want Video Ringtones for that device, methinks your gonna have to look at commercially chargeable applications such as Skyestream SkyeCaller Plus/2 etc.

    And bear in mind, whilst good, these are not without flaw (i.e you can set them individually, but you can’t set a Video Ringtone for an entire Caller Group list, as you can on those Nokia phones that have native VR support).

    HTH,

  9. 10 southerngirl February 16, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I have a Nokia E71 through straight talk wireless and when I go to contacts select a contact and click options ringtones is not one of the options available, neither is it an option in the “add details” menu. For some reason whenever I dowload a ringtone it gets saved into the “Tracks” section of my gallery. When i go into the music gallery and try to set the tone from there it does not have the option “use tone” so that it can be set to a specific contact but when I go into the “sound clips” section of the gallery the options is avaliable but again my ringtones arent in “sound clips” they go straight to “tracks”. Please Help!!!


Comments are currently closed.




