E71 – a camera phone or not?

I’m glad to announce that today our flickr photo group – Nokia E71 Group reached 100 members. This fact encouraged me to check how are stats of uploading to flickr photos taken with Nokia E71? I was one more time positively surprised. Currently E71 is ranked as 5th most popular Nokia camera phone! It is right after 5 Mpix phones like N95 or N82!

I know there were many bad words spoken about the quality of pictures taken with E71. I’m one of those disappointed with last software update, as it didn’t change default camera settings. Nevertheless it seems that E71 is good enough to share your photos with other. What is your opinion about it?

14 Responses to “E71 – a camera phone or not?”


  1. 1 Bill December 23, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    By far the biggest disappointment of my Nokia owning life is (and continues to be) the camera on the E71. Share them if you like, but my friends consider me the gadget guy and I am embarrassed to post a picture from the E71. I’d rather swap out my sim card and take the picture with my N95. When you’d rather take the picture in Sepia mode because it looks better than the standard purple mode, something is wrong.

  2. 2 Michael P. December 23, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    For me, it’s not the optics, or even the purple haze, but it is the extreme amount of noise that makes this camera difficult to work with. I have seen noise in photos taken in full sunlight, and in anything dimmer than normal daylight the noise dominates.

    The purple haze can be dealt with in an image tool like Photoshop, but the noise is much harder to remove. The camera performs much better in low-light situations if you select “night” mode in the camer options menu. But then fine details get smeared in the image.

  3. 3 AC December 23, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I can live with the quality of still images, but I really wish the E71 could capture VGA video. Here’s a report I did for WOM World with more info: http://tinyurl.com/7wxe92

  4. 4 a December 24, 2008 at 2:56 am

    i leave it set on auto – white balance in particular – and i get good results (great results even…considering) in good light. putting the white balance on the proper setting gives the purple haze on my phone and bad light ensures noise. i have been very impressed with the video camera, taking many great short videos at concerts in bad light. the sound comes out great.

  5. 5 X-man December 24, 2008 at 8:52 am

    Everything seems to have a purple haze with my photos.

    But my friends E71 has a black vertical line going down the camera screen shot!!

  6. 6 Vitaliano Giannangeli December 24, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    If you compare the e71 against any nseries it will loose the camera fight BIG Time.

    BUT

    Compare the camera against any Blackberry, an Iphone or any other business type phone and you suddenly have a champion in your hands.

    I have had an n73, a n95, e51, a bb curve 8310 and now i have a n82 and an e71. The e71 tales pictures almost as good as my n73.

    It is not the best camera phone. But against its competition in the business arena is the best.

  7. 7 Auronius January 4, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I’m using my E71 camera mainly to take photos of text – in this case, the auto focus gives sufficient quality. But if I want to take photos of anything else (holidays etc), i rather use my Panasonic camera – quality of shots taken by E71 is terrible, imho.

    I also have a straight horizontal line of distorted colours. Fortunately, its only about 2 pixels wide.

    So generally I wouldn’t call E71 a Cameraphone. And it isn’t actually advertised to be one, so that’s not a problem 😉

    I used to own a Samsung D900 – it’s also equipped with a 3mpix autofocus camera and I have to admit its quality is cleraly better.

  8. 8 ViewtifulD January 5, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I am quite disappointed as well that the firmware update did nothing for the camera on the E71.

    But as other have specified in this post, this might be the one and only sort of glitch on the phone. It’s after all an E series phone and not a media centered N series phone.

    I miss my N95 at times when I want to take photos on the fly, but that’s just about the only time I miss it.

    I also agree that the camera is a lot better than most other competitive phones in the market, but would have expected Nokia to out do itself in this respect.

    Overall, I can live with this and not complain too much. The other features and the phone itself outweigh the camera aspect. It’s just one awesome solid phone! 🙂

    @Bill – I completely agree with every word in your post!

  9. 9 Cupax January 5, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    I agree with Bill. For me the camera is absolutely useless and I don’t use it at all. And not because of being shamed to show my pictures to others, it just hurts when you look at them. And mine has a green horizontal line always showing on upper half of the photo. Biiig minus for Nokia 😦
    I would really prefer E71 to be without camera and 50$ cheaper.

  10. 10 Michael P. January 6, 2009 at 6:43 am

    If you have a green line showing on your photos, your camera is defective and you should get Nokia to fix it.

    If there was one thing I could fix about this phone, it would be the camera. That said, it’s 10 times better than the camera on my crappy old Sony Ericsson flip-phone, and it does take snapshots that are good enough to post on Facebook.

    The purple tint at least is something Nokia ought to be able to fix with a firmware update.

  11. 11 Kuntal shah January 13, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I am using E71 from last 6 months.

    I am really disappointed with 3.2 MP Camera that it ships with. As when I take photos with one of my friends iPhone the photos when enlarged do not loose quality while the case with E71 is it looses the quality easily. And I am trying to find out if it can be improved as it is obviously not the result what a 3.2 MP camera would give.

    I am looking for something which can change this as camera is one of the important things for me.

    other thing is the loudspeaker is also not that loud in this phone.

    Else then that its a great phone.

  12. 12 marko March 27, 2009 at 7:34 am

    how to achieve fine detailed close-up images? seems like it’s impossible?

  13. 13 A April 22, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Hi
    Anyone know how to leave the autofocus on as a default setting? I don’t understand why it turns off every time you take a picture. It is annoying to press “T” everytime you want a clear picture.

    Thanks

  14. 14 Debi1010 September 19, 2009 at 8:07 am

    My E71 also has a thin horizontal line going right thru the middle. I sent it back and they made things worse. Now I have this wide purple line going down the entire right side. This is nuts. I suppose will have to send it back again. The paper they sent back with the phone stated they “repaired” audio on it. DUH…I had sent it for the horizontal line..haha. What a joke. This will be my last Nokia and I will return to Blackberry. Fed up with Nokia.


Comments are currently closed.




