Bitter ‘Conversation’ on E71

Nokia ConversationOne of most promising projects from Nokia Labs – Conversation has been updated lately and now is available for more S60 devices, including Nokia E71.

The idea of application is very easy and seems to be useful. Very often you send someone a text message (SMS) and in a minute he or she responds the same way. You answer back and conversation is ready! The application gathers messages sent to and from a particular person using consistent UI, adds a picture stored in contact book and allows writing messages directly from its interface. Thanks to Conversation a SMS-based conversation looks like IM application window, well known from your PC or iPhone.

If you like to try, you can now install it on your E71 after checking detail installation instruction. Nokia E71 seems to be a perfect phone for this kind app but I have a few bitter words about Conversation. Why does it show messages stored in my archive folders? Why does it show a kind of blank messages for delivery reports? For me it absolutely spoils the usability of the application. I’d say this feature is needed and useful, but still there is a lot of work to be done. What are your opinions?

10 Responses to “Bitter ‘Conversation’ on E71”


  1. 1 Mark December 22, 2008 at 9:06 am

    Hi there, you’re right, it’s a great app with some issues. For example, deleted messages won’t disappear in Conversation until close the app with the red key. Same for delivery reports…

    Do you have the same problem with deletions?

  2. 2 Avx1 December 22, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    Sorry, But I don’t understand what you ment by:
    – messages stored in my archive folders
    – kind of blank messages for delivery reports

    Please explain.

    My problem is: when sending SMS using the special area (near the “pencil”) in Hebrew, the Hebrew chars are shown as “?” (question chars) by the receiver

    • 3 Dexter December 22, 2008 at 7:24 pm

      Avx1,

      Please take a look at screenshot illustrating this post. After I reply someone via text message the phone receives a delivery report and displays it as blank (no text) incoming message.

      Regarding archived messages. I have created a few folders where I have saved messages with passwords, multimedia messages, etc. I don’t feel it is necessary to show me those messages on Conversation “contact list”. I think there should be available option of displaying only conversations linked to messages in your inbox.

  3. 4 Jesus T December 22, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    What I don’t like is that when a new msg arrived you open the conversation threat and it stills show as new… it should be marked as read already… its annoying.

  4. 5 Samma December 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    I haven’t seen the issues you describe… but I think the app could be better as well. For example, I really wish the font would be SMALLER so that it can display MORE of the conversation at once… a way to do this would be maybe to have an option whether or not to see the contact’s “display picture”. I would love to have threaded SMS similar to the iPhone or even BlackBerry… Conversation is a step in the right direction though.
    Maybe if they somehow combine their Nokia Chat interface with Conversation… it would be great.

  5. 6 Michael P. December 22, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    If this application were 1.0, I could see the harsh treatment it has received in this blog post. But the application is from Nokia Beta Labs. So that means its Beta. And that means it’s likely to have some bugs, and some usability issues that still need to be worked out.

  6. 7 pb December 29, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Michael, you are confusing Beta with Betalabs. the problem is NOT that it is “beta”, it is that is very poor software design.

    Lots of software from Betalabs is very low quality – everything they touch is ruined like Maps 3.0, N series PC suite.

    Nokia please sack Betalabs and hire good programmers!

  7. 8 Zed December 29, 2008 at 8:26 pm

    I have come from Windows Mobile 6.1 and this is one of the things that I was missing…threaded conversations. It is fine what would use it for (I don’t have message archives and I don’t use message reports). I am sure Nokia will improve it.

  8. 9 cogent January 11, 2009 at 5:28 am

    The default for the OS should be threaded conversations. But it isn’t. Hopefully, the ongoing development of Nokia Conversation will eventually lead to that. However, I tested it for a month and had to get rid of it because with it installed my phonebook was almost unusable. Any edits were torturously slow.

    And uninstalling it is a learning experience all in itself. Uninstall failed because something could not be deleted. I had to install a separate application (KillMe) which allowed me to kill the persistent undeletable, and then uninstall succeeded.

    Nokia should at least provide for a clean uninstall process, even if (or especially if) the software is beta.

  9. 10 davidliew May 1, 2010 at 5:01 am

    I am facing the same problem too…but thanks to this Nokia cares…just shut down your phone, remove your battery then restart and remove/uninstall from the icon…thank God it work.


Comments are currently closed.




