Before you update yours E71! (or other S60 phones)

Nokia E71 after software updateOK I’ve got mine phone finally updated, but I thought it is a good idea to write – how to make software update as least harmful for the user as possible?

What do I need to do before changing software?

Please keep in mind to have a battery fully charged. I really mean it! Yesterday Nokia Software Update tool was trying to download the update at least several times before it was successful. Why? Most probably servers were busy and transfer has been interrupted several times. All this time your phone is connected to your PC using USB cable in PC Suite mode. Remember that the phone’s battery is not recharging at this time.

Make your personal data safe! Do you synchronize your phone with your Outlook, or other PIM applications via PC Suite? Yes? That’s good, but it’s NOT enough! Using PC Suite create a full backup copy before starting upgrading process. What about files and applications installed in your phone memory? The BEST, FASTEST and EASIEST way of saving your personal data is making a copy of your phone memory on a memory card. Please make by choosing: Tools > Memory > Options > Back up Phone Memory and wait until it will be competed.

The final step is making your memory card safe as well. If you use any ciphering or coding tools please remove passwords and switch it off, because in other way after update the card might be inaccessible. To be sure about the card I simply removed it from the phone before running NSU tool.

Please take care about a computer using for software update as well. Use only build-in USB ports, instead of those in docking stations or hubs. If you are using laptop make use it’s battery is fully enough to support whole process. Be aware of stability of your system too! It is wise to close all applications which could make system crash during updating your phone.

How to behave during the process?

Be patient and don’t panic! As NSU suggests do not interrupt the process by disconnecting phone from your computer or closing application. As I said it might happen that the NSU downloading process will be interrupted. Simply please try again.

It is no longer my phone!

Right, after successful update process your phone will be as new as taken out of the box. No contacts, photos, or applications. The fastest way to restore it is to use memory card with a copy done before. Use path: Tools > Memory > Options > Restore from card. Few minutes and it is done! Most of your information and applications installed in phone memory should be back. It may happen that some of them disappear or won’t be running properly. Just reinstall those apps, some of them might ask for serial number again.

What if something went wrong? It just happens, so please do not panic, don’t blame yourself and contact your local Nokia Care Center for assistance.

31 Responses to “Before you update yours E71! (or other S60 phones)”


  1. 1 NJ Baker November 19, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Phew, just done the entire update and so far everything seems to be working fine. As mentioned above, your phone acts as if it is brand new. All I did was run a backup with pc-suite before updating and restored the backup after the update was completed – worked perfectly! The only thing I can notice is that it lost the packet data info (but this realy does’nt bother me).

  2. 2 Rotkaeqpchen November 19, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Eerm, what theme is this?

  3. 3 RAS November 19, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    I keep copies of the .sis files on my computer for third-party apps I have installed. I also keep a text archive of the emails that contain the unlock codes/serial numbers for those apps. It’s a small thing to do and can save a lot of time and hassle down the road.

  4. 4 adM November 19, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    was wondering what theme that is? and where you got it?

  5. 5 adM November 19, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    sry, also forgot asking how you can see what update you got installed on your device? I wanna see if i need to install the new update or if i already got it.

  6. 6 Tarek November 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Thanks dude for the info.. I’ll check tonight if my phone’s got an update ready since I’m a bit far away from Poland.. The info on the backup was pretty helpful. Appreciate it..

  7. 7 kinus November 19, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    hi, i’m wonder too, what theme are you using?:) (theme on screenshot)

  8. 8 WebEyE November 20, 2008 at 7:30 am

    Just did the update incl. backup but all my installed programms were gone
    and even worse SmartConnect won’t work any longer – ‘not licensed to use on this phone’ damn nokia!

  9. 9 Rotkaeqpchen November 20, 2008 at 9:45 am

    It’s just frustrating, … STILL NO UPDATE here in Germany for my UNBRANDED E71… *grml*

  10. 10 Tarek November 20, 2008 at 9:49 am

    OK not sure if anyone else had this problem, but the pre-installed apps on my phone were gone (WiPresenter, world mate…) but I could download those again.. But multiscanner is gone and I can’t find where to download it from, not on my phone or Nokia’s site… Anyone face that problem? Anyone have a solution?!?

  11. 12 jk November 23, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Multiscanner and other default E71 apps are found trough “Download!” app on E71.

  12. 13 itsfood November 24, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Thanks, nice guide, just upgraded in the UK

  13. 14 Joris November 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

    “Just did the update incl. backup but all my installed programms were gone
    and even worse SmartConnect won’t work any longer – ‘not licensed to use on this phone’ damn nokia!”

    I have the same problems. I was planning on reformatting my memorycard and reinstall a few programs, so my firmware upgrade took awhile. I really hate the fact that SmartConnect doesn’t work, but fortunally I already purchased Psiloc Connect (which does the same but is less awesome and comes with a pricetag) Maybe we have to contact Nokia about this.

  14. 15 hi November 24, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    while updating my e71 vista crashed as i was in middle of e71 update , e71 has also crashed and gone dead do not know what to do i got this phone in india now iam abroad if i give it for repair it will cost me a fortune

    please help this is second nokia going bad

    • 16 Gihan April 29, 2009 at 6:36 am

      Try a hardware reset bro.

      Turn on the phone while pressing “3” + “*” and the GREEN button!!!!!!!! easy as that… it hard reset the phone to factory defaults.

      If that doesnt work try using the Phoenix Service and Test Software Suite. Google that up. The latest version is “Phoenix Service Software 2009.04.011.37849”
      It can repair bricked phones as well. You can use the data cable that came with ur phone to do this.
      Heres the link:

      http://www.seventy4.co.uk/weblog/2006/11/02/how-to-install-phoenix/

      Hope u get it repaired cos i know how it must feel to when ur phone goes dead on u.

  15. 17 Michael December 4, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Had my E71 for 2 weeks, trying to get exchange to work with my administator had major issues. SO I have decided to upgrade to .127 FW but the the updater only sees the current version which is what came out of the box, so it re-installs the FW.

    What can I do so SW updaters allows me to update the latest firmware, is there a manual method up downloading firmware?

    Thanks

  16. 18 Mateo December 14, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    After update I cant install .jar type files. Even Opera mini! Anybody else with this problem?

  17. 19 Jhay December 20, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    I already updated my phone this past few days and all I can say is it works very fine! If you want a customize theme better check out http://www.zedge.net

    Thanks for this post! from Philippines,

  18. 20 wmabrad December 30, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I updated the Nokia E71 I got for Christmas. After the download completed I disconnected the phone from the computer, following the instructions (I have previously updated my Nokia N93, several times so I am not a novice at this)and it would not boot up and would shut off after being on for a few seconds. Fortunately, since the phone had just been purchased I was able to exchange it. I will not attempt to update the software on it again though.

  19. 21 Archit Bartolome January 3, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    How can have a bigger and bolder font on my email messages?

  20. 22 Lulu January 16, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Anyone tried the 200.21.118 version?

  21. 24 Alwyn January 31, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Wish I had read this before upgrading my E71.

    I performed a full backup using PC Suite, but on restore all my contacts, messages, applications and configuration was gone.

    Thanks Nokia, your software is starting to be just as crap as those from M$.

  22. 25 Pervez March 25, 2009 at 5:46 am

    I had the same issue with smartconnect failing after the upgrade, but could fix it following the FAQ on the Birdstep site.

    1. Smartconnect does not seem to appear in the ‘Download’ app catalog after updating to 210.x.x . I had to search for ‘smart’ to located the app.

    2. Instructions to fix the licensing error are at
    http://www.birdstep.com/Products/Birdstep/SmartConnect/SmartConnect-FAQ/

    Pervez

  23. 26 Gihan April 29, 2009 at 6:43 am

    if u still cant find an update for your phone try changing your product code with the Nemesis software Suite.

    http://www.e71blog.com/2009/01/how-to-change-your-e71-nam-product-code/

    list of product codes
    https://nokiae71.wordpress.com/2008/08/04/product-codes-for-e71/

  24. 27 Emma February 27, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Hi im just wondering how to download my photos to my computer of my mobile i dont know how to do it.

  25. 28 Anirudh July 6, 2010 at 5:08 am

    If I use –
    Tools > Memory > Options > Back up Phone Memory

    Will this backup my Contacts and Calendar as well? So once I do this, I need not back up my contacts separately?

    Thanks!

    • 29 Dexter July 6, 2010 at 5:39 am

      It saves your contacts and calendars as well. This is indeed the fastest and most convenient way of making backup, but in case memory card will be corrupted I always keep one more backup on my PC.

  26. 30 Chief October 12, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I update my phone and all my contact got deleted can i get it back?please say yes.. 🙂


  1. 1 Update E71 Firmware Safely With These Tips - And How’s The New Firmware? | nokianewphone Trackback on November 21, 2008 at 8:54 am
Comments are currently closed.




