E71 alive after software update

Ok, it’s late, but finally I managed to download software update and my E71 is fine with new software. Now it’s time for observation. Hear you soon!

17 Responses to “E71 alive after software update”


  1. 1 follerec November 19, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Here are some for you…

    1. The picture zoom bug is still there (for details, look for it in flickr.com, you’ll see a noisy purple picture).

    2. Address book now supports the theme’s background. But the text color isn’t used. It’s always black. Try a black or dark background theme for fun.

    3. Calendar doesn’t get themeing support (well some, but not the background). Not really a complaint. I’m glad they kept it that way to keep things legible.

    So far that’s all my complaints. I think the camera is less purple (except when taking dark pictures). But I notice that at startup, it adjusts from purple to more normal, so it seems to really just be a software hack to fix what seems to be a really purple lens =)

    Not really related to the firmware update…

    4. Download! doesn’t seem to be complete when I update. The Graphics, Video, etc. folders never load completely. I just get a plain folder(s) inside with no label(s). This has happened ever since they added these new folders (at least for me in the Philippines) even with the old firmware.

  2. 2 Blogomotive November 19, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Download will erease everything in my E71. How to deal with it? What kind of backup’s you propose, to have everything OK after update (contacts, calendar, installed apps, active notes, etc.)?

  3. 3 Tiago Faria November 19, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I also went ahead and installed the new software. So far, I’m very happy with it. One of the most frustrating things was the Nokia Maps failing at 90% (when loading). This is fixed now, and GPS, overall, works allot better.

    @Blogomotive

    What I did was to copy the contacts to the SIM card, and before upgrading I removed the encryption and copy-pasted all the content from my memory card to my computer.

    After the update I copied the contacts back from the SIM and copied the stuff from my computer to the phone again.

  4. 4 Marcel November 19, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Does McGuyver Sygic Drive work with the new rom ?

  5. 5 rasika November 19, 2008 at 11:13 am

    to be honest, i dont think this update was meant to fix any actual bugs – in my personal opinion i think they released this version to prevent hacking the symbian OS.

    its more like a trojan – the outlook says that its going to solve some minor bugs, but from the inside, its made the OS hack proof. so byebye unsigned applications!

  6. 6 Toni November 19, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    After installing the new firmware the Multiscanner doesn’t work. After starting it up a message appears saying: Could not instantiate following modules: MMIO, OCR, BCR. Then when I try to read something it says sstem error 😦

  7. 8 Toni November 19, 2008 at 3:06 pm

    Nokia support informed me that the memory card shall be removed before performing the firmware upgrade. Since Multiscanner is installed initially on the memory card it may become damaged during the upgrade. According to Nokia there is no way to restore it but the lady also told me unofficially that Nokia is considering to make Multiscanner downloadable.

    So it seems I lost this app, at least for a while…

  8. 9 follerec November 19, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Guys, for Multiscanner, update the Download! app and look for it there. I formatted my memory card from day 1. The only way I got Multiscanner back was from it being recently available in Download! And it works well with the new firmware.

  9. 10 Amit Kataria November 20, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Hi,

    I updated the latest phone software for my E71 and as it says the phone is alive. Working all fine but with a problem after the update the vibrator of the phone has stopped working. if someone can help as what to do ?

  10. 11 saif ahmed December 5, 2008 at 2:41 am

    crap. My update barfed. it worked fine until I resotred my data from the memory card. After that basically I lost all functionality.
    No signal strength or battery indicator. dialog boxes show no text Can’t go to any items in hte menu

  11. 12 Martinus March 25, 2009 at 6:36 am

    Guys, I updated my E71-1. After update, all seems okay but my 3G network seems to be not functioning. The MMS, Internet, Streaming and email profile which previously works fine, all not working. I erased the profiles and re-download from my mobile provider using their OTA setting, it says Message format not supported. Also my wireless lan not working. The icon says connection establish (connected to wireless network), but when I connect to the mail server, it pop up a message WLAN connection already exist. Please close and try again. The problem is I cant find the way to deactivate it it. Can someone helps?

    • 13 Faycal June 7, 2009 at 2:23 pm

      I experienced the same problem!!! please let me know how you solve it?
      many thanks
      Fayçal

  12. 14 Martinus March 25, 2009 at 6:38 am

    anybody knows how to restore it to the previous version?

  13. 15 Janik June 22, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    I’m having the same issue.. Pls let me know if anyone has a solution.. thanks 🙂

  14. 16 Maiky September 9, 2010 at 7:43 am

    I have updated Nokia E71.
    After that,I lost everything.

    Cannot even turn on again. There is message “Mode Mode” and screen cannot turn to normal.

    What can I do now??

    Is there anywhere I can get all the information from my phone ?

    Thanks


  1. 1 download Nokia E71 multiscanner | Download Cell Phones Trackback on December 13, 2008 at 5:35 pm
Comments are currently closed.




