Nokia Friend View

Nokia Friend View on E71Nokia Beta Labs announced a new localization-based tool called Nokia Friend View. New product is still in beta test phase, but it already allows building a mobile microblogging community. Application is available for Nokia S60 devices including E71 of course.
To use Friend View you need to start with visiting friendview.nokia.com to login with your Nokia Account (the one used for some of Ovi services) or to create a new account. You can download and install Symbian application on your phone and create/register an account. Now you can add your friends using the same service and start microblogging, similar to popular twitter. You can share your location, add your status and of course watch where your friends are and what do they do? All those actions are possible to be done with your mobile client or with a web browser interface on your desktop machine.

Friend View uses for positioning: build-in GPS module, external modules connected via Bluetooth, or Network Bases positioning (like Google Maps for mobile). Of course to keep your location and status online it is required to have a packet transmission on. I’m not sure how much of data will it consume, but most probably downloading background maps will have important impact on your phone bill!

I’ve just started playing with Friend View and I encourage you to do the same. My login is Dexterus. Feel free to link with my profile 🙂

My comment is why does Nokia works on so many similar services at the same time? We have Sports Tracker, which is no longer sport-focused application. It has been announced that Nokia viNe will be presented soon, and Beta Labs guys are already working on a very, very similar tool which is Nokia Chat. Maybe all those projects should be combined?

4 Responses to “Nokia Friend View”


  1. 1 Fabio November 7, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Nice app! I added you to my friend list, my nickname is ‘asterikus’

  2. 2 Poli November 8, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Dexter & Asterikus you booth are add to my friends list…very cool app

  3. 3 hypo November 10, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I agree with fabio, it’s this app i searched since i have my e71. I added Dexter&Asterikus too. Please accept my request so i can all functions of the app. My nickname is hypo19


Comments are currently closed.




