What can’t your E71 live without?

We all get our phones with default applications installed by Nokia or some 3rd party partners. We all then have Real Player, Sports Tracker or bar code reader in it. However, the power of Symbian, as a real operating system, is that you can quickly and easily add applications which make the phone customized for your needs. This week I have read an interesting article about top ten freeware applications for N82 posted on the Nokia N82 blog. It prompted me to take a look at my E71 after a few months of usage and check what I installed. What are the apps I can’t live without?

Because of hardware disparities such as lack of built-in accelerometer, the top ten for E71 will be different. You won’t find ShakeLock on my mobile. Due to compatibility differences, you won’t see me playing any of N-Gage games either. However, E71 with its full keyboard is open for other possibilities. That’s why you can see me in a bus chatting with Nimbuzz instead of texting. I have Gmail and as well as WidSets on my phone, but I definitely wouldn’t put those programs in my personal top ten. OK, so I’ve created my own E71 top ten, not only freeware apps.

  1. FM radio (native)
  2. Web Browser (native)
  3. Quick Office (mostly Excel)
  4. Media Player (& podcasting)
  5. Sports Tracker
  6. Nimbuzz (Skype client)
  7. Nokia Maps
  8. Splash ID
  9. Location Tagger
  10. Screenshot (for blogging purposes)

Now, some comments from my side. As you may see, I took into consideration default applications but I didn’t t include native calendar, alarm clock or e-mail application as those really are a must be in a modern phone. Anyway I’m interested if you use other software instead of those original features. For example Nokia Email or Microsoft Exchange? I’m very curious which of those applications you use as well. Actually I hope you will post your own favs or even top tens in here! I believe this could help all of us customize our phones by finding  yet unknown applications lost in constellations of Symbian software.

11 Responses to “What can’t your E71 live without?”


  1. 1 Jared October 29, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    1. Profimail
    2. JBak Taskman
    3. Opera Mini
    4. GooSync
    5. Fring
    6. Mobbler
    7. Mobile Weather for S60
    8. Joiku Spot
    9. Sports Tracker
    10. Putty

  2. 2 Simon October 30, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Google Maps is amazing – still not sure how people are finding that Nokia Maps works better.

    I use FRING for Gchat support.

    I would also include GMAIL in my top 10.

  3. 3 JT October 30, 2008 at 1:20 am

    I use Mail for Exchange for work email and because of that I have found that Nokia Email doesn’t work as well with M4E.

    Top Ten:

    1. Native Browser
    2. Gmail App (newest version is amazing)
    3. Slick Messenger
    4. Mobile Weather for S60
    5. JBak Taskman
    6. Mobbler
    7. Podcasting
    8. Internet Radio
    9. Google Maps
    10. Top Hits Solitaires

  4. 4 sph October 30, 2008 at 7:52 am

    I do use both Mail for Exchange and Nokia Mail, so I get both work emails and private emails pushed in. So far they both coexist quite nicely.

    In addition to apps listed I have found following useful

    – mLock (assigned to long press of user defined button. It is surprisingly useful to be able to lock the keys with some other app on front without going back to idle screen.

    – Some native browser bookmarks assigned to user defined buttons. When a page is launched like this it is loaded to a new page (access to pages using ‘5’ shortcut, which works better on E71 than before)

    – My own TTP (http://huopio.fi/simo/ttp/) for quick access to family photos.

    – Have you guys found a better podcasting app than the native one?

  5. 5 Matsu October 30, 2008 at 8:58 am

    In addition I use:
    – Crypto (from Smartphoneware)
    – ScreenSnap (idem)
    – Y-browser and Y-tasks (from drjukka.com)
    – Wavelog (from Telewaving.com)

  6. 6 Prch October 30, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Other useful tools:
    – Psiloc Connect
    – Handy Blacklist
    – WorldMate
    – cClock

  7. 7 Eero October 30, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    – Psiloc Connect
    – Bankarama (too bad there is no Pocket Quicken…)
    – Nokia Maps
    – Joikuspot
    – SplashID
    – Fring
    – Sports Tracker
    – Wellness Diary
    – Location Tagger

    I am really missing a good way to sync notes or memos (to the Mac). And the built-in calendar sucks for my purposes, so I have evaluated Aquacalendar, Papyrus, and Handy Calendar, but they each lack something or other..

  8. 8 X-man October 31, 2008 at 7:42 am

    Garmin MobileXT
    Bluetooth Multiplayer games: raphael nadal, mophun, etc.
    Fring
    X-plore
    IrRemote
    Smartmovie
    Skyfire

  9. 9 IncidentFlux October 31, 2008 at 10:01 am

    This is a very decent & powerful mobile device but with crappy VPN support.

    Sorry to say Nokia doesn’t care too much about its business users…

    I’ve always been a Nokia user, but one of the one biggest business related holes which I’ve noticed in Nokia S60 devices is their VPN implementation.

    Power / Business users need proper VPN, even the crappy version 1 iPhone can do basic PPTP connections. Nokia can only do the horrible and expensive to implement ‘IPsec’ (Who uses that?). Good luck finding affordable IPsec VPN providers for home use.

    Eseries has been out for years, why isn’t Nokia covering PPTP and Open SSL/OpenVPN? It’s just software isn’t it?

    This means a lot to those who live in countries like United Arab Emirates, China, & Saudi Arabia where most of the cool sites/services like Last.FM, Flickr, All SIP services, Skype etc, have been blocked for years. This lack of proper VPN support hurts us financially, as much I like Nokia, they really suck at implementing proper VPN.

    This lack of proper VPN support hurts us financially, Nokia enough of this! If someone here is in direct touch with Nokia, please pass this message on…

  10. 10 Jesse November 28, 2008 at 4:32 am

    I am very interested in buying an E71.
    I can’t afford more than 270.00
    Would there be one out there around that price?
    300?

    And would I be able to download Yahoo Messenger?
    jesser2@verizon.net

  11. 11 Fred February 5, 2009 at 10:12 am

    if you cant afford the E71, get the E63.
    it’s pretty much the same, except the high speed 3G and the plastic body vs the metal body of e71.

    You can get the E63 for $280 only.

    I’m very happy with it except for the VPN thing that doesn’t really work.
    No support for keys or openvpn.


Comments are currently closed.




