Nokia Maps zooming shortcuts for E71

Do you find shortcuts suggested for zooming map in/out on E71 as a nightmare? I do. Pressing function key and then * (U) or # (J) is not very useful with E71’s full keyboard. I remember it worked fine on my N80 but not on E71. Timi from the phoneomenon.com blog posted very useful hint for all Nokia Maps and E71 users. Instead of keyboard shortcuts suggested by icons on right side of the Maps workscreen you can use upper arrow key to zoom the map in or backspace key to zoom it out! It really works!

7 Responses to “Nokia Maps zooming shortcuts for E71”


  1. 1 Hans October 27, 2008 at 9:20 am

    nice trick! Though the “upper arrow key” might confuse some readers: It is not the “up” of the D-pad, but the SHIFT-Key that zooms in….

  2. 2 Blogomotive October 27, 2008 at 10:11 am

    It works. But I don’t use Nokia Maps at all. I got used to TomTom for Symbian (installed and worked great on my E71) and Nokia Maps are just gadgets to show friends for fun. It’s not usefull for navigation and real professional use. Not yet.

  3. 3 Brad October 27, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Its “Shift” and “delete”, I found it out on the day I got my E71 before reading the “proper” keys to use in the manual 🙂

  4. 4 Kimmo October 27, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    You can also use the space bar to center the view to your own location.

  5. 5 Tim October 28, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    ya im relieved that these buttons are available to use.

  6. 6 swissy October 28, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    greaaaaat.. i figured that one out on my first day! do you people play with your devices at all??

  7. 7 swissy October 28, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    btw.. can anyone tell me how u take out this search bar, its really annoying! and when i’m on voice navigation the actual map gets really small, not convenient at all!!! I hope they change it in the next firmware update!


Comments are currently closed.




