[Review]: Nokia HS-16 with E71

Sometime ago there were some posts on my blog about poor sound quality given by headset HS-46 – the one you can find in a box with your E71. There were some suggestions that if you want to listen to the music only, you can use your own standard audio headphones and connector.

I assume there are some fans of wireless Bluetooth headsets among you, but as I’m FM-radio addicted this is not a solution for me. Several days ago I have found good headphones from Nokia, HS-16, allowing to take control of player (volume control), FM radio (volume control and stations switching) and voice calls (receive/end call and volume control). Those headphones are not small, but the way you wear it is comfortable, they are easily foldable and quality of sound is really good in comparison to default headphones.

What’s really cool about HS-16 is that it is delivered with 3 different cables: 2,5 mm Nokia jack, 3,5 mm Nokia jack, and 3,5 mm standard audio jack. It means that you can use the same headphones with E71 (or any other 2,5 mm jack supporting phone), other devices with Nokia 3,5 mm jack (like XpressMusic series) or standard player (iPod, PC, Mac, etc.) I really love it. I travel by train very often and thanks to those headphones and changeable cables I carry only one item with two cables. I can easily use it if I want to watch a DVD on my laptop or listen to FM radio with my mobile.

8 Responses to “[Review]: Nokia HS-16 with E71”


  1. 1 Avx1 October 14, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Very nice review
    What headset can you recommend for listening to FM radio when I am riding my bikes. I also love to hear FM, and when I ride I am using only one ear to listen (the is to hear the traffic.

    BTW the link to “Nokia, HS-16” has a mistake

  2. 2 Dexter October 16, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Hi,

    Thanks for info about broken link. I’ve just fixed it.

    Regarding HS-16, that’s true, the only disadvantage is that I cannot wear it with my bike helmet. When I bike I use the original headset then.

    best regards,
    Dexter

  3. 3 AC October 28, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Ah, so the the cable on this headset becomes the antenna for the FM radio, then? That makes sense… Too bad it didn’t come in white as well!

  4. 4 Peter Schwerdtfeger February 23, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Where can I buy the Nokia HS-16 headset complete with a 2.5mm plug compatible with the Nokia E71 phone in Australia?

  5. 5 Neil April 9, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Hello, thanks for the review. I really like the E71 and am aware it is not really a multimedia centric. You mentioned that his headphone controls the volume. I would like to know if it also controls <> next track? Or even if it is even possible with the E71?
    Thanks

    • 6 Piatpif July 21, 2010 at 9:19 am

      Hi, on mine brand new HS-16 none of the controls are working with E71. I suspect it might be the same story as AD-44 – flat battery inside and you have to break in to replace it. Anyone had the same problem?


  1. 1 Nokia HS-16 Review. | %date% | Phoneomenon.com Trackback on October 18, 2008 at 5:30 am
  2. 2 » Blog Archive » Hello world! Trackback on October 18, 2008 at 10:57 pm
Comments are currently closed.




