[Update] Nokia Email updated

Nokia Email application and service available since August finally has been updated, after first stage of public usage and testing. New version offers using up to 6 e-mail accounts, supports new languages, deleting messages on server side directly from your phone. Application can be installed now on N96 and N78 devices as well.

Of course I will start testing it and I intend to share my comments and impressions with you, but I encourage you to do the same as well, especially if you are E71 user.

[Update]: Here are my first impressions about new Nokia Email version. Installation process was smooth. I have added two e-mail accounts and it feature seems to be bugged:

  • I have defined two different signatures for those two accounts, but when I start creating a new message it uses only one of them and switching between accounts doesn’t change the signature.
  • I have defined “From” fields, so the person receiving a mail from me could see for example “Dexter”. Unfortunately application sends just e-mail address in this field. I have checked it on my account web page and so far I haven’t found any solution.

As good beta user I have already posted those bugs to Nokia Email feedback. If you have found anything else please do the same and share it in here as well.

14 Responses to “[Update] Nokia Email updated”


  1. 1 subcorpus October 12, 2008 at 11:55 am

    gonna try this service this week …
    but i hear emoze is better than the service from nokia …
    any ideas … ???

  2. 2 Jim October 13, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I tried Emoze last week, after a couple hours it kept crashing. The psudo HTML view is nice but i prefer Nokia. I’ve tried Seven as well. Nice service, but delivery isn’t as fast as Nokia’s. I just reloaded the upgraded to the new version, no real opinion yet. I had been using the old version for about a month when it simply stopped working. Went back to Seven for a week and then saw the news about the new Beta. I’ll let you know what i think after a few days.

  3. 3 gado October 13, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    What is the advantage of Nokia Mail?

  4. 4 plaggenplei October 13, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    so my problem is that nokia-mail does not support yahoo-mail and t-online email. am i alone with that problem? cause for now nokia email isnt useful for me if it remains like this!

  5. 5 wellfed October 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Had a really stable install of the original Nokia app on my E71. Made the mistake of updating the app today and it’s taken me hours to get back to receiving email. The phone hung – wouldn’t start and had random screen breakups. As this has never happened before (or since) I am attributing it to the new version of the Nokia app.

    Annoying thing was that the earlier app was working fine. Having spent hours today trying to get the phone working properly, I’ve now given up with the Nokia app and gone to the ‘Email on 3’ (Seven) service.

    Shame – it looked a good app. Might see how things pan out with the later releases.

    I’ll be passing my commenst to Nokia

    Cheers

    Paul

  6. 6 Avx1 October 14, 2008 at 10:43 am

    I am using EMOZE ver 2.00 with almost no problem at all. I connect to GMail and to my work https:// site.

    I am waiting for the new documentation, hope it will be publish soon.

    See no need for me to move to Nokia mail service, unless I miss something 🙂

  7. 7 Oliver October 15, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Emoze 2.00 is really buggy on E71

    with my Gmail account

    ALL of the emails always VANISH/DISAPPEAR from the Emoze INBOX after some minutes.

    They cannot be retrieved again! restart of Emoze doesnt help, resync doesnt bring the lost emails back!

    When opening email with big attachmenst like 600 KB all the emails vanish SUDDENLY on the moment.

    makes software total UNUSABLE

  8. 8 eli October 15, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    i have e 71 and i have a problem with the nokia email service ,after i resving mail and read and evan delete them thay still appear one the main screen

  9. 9 gado October 15, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    What is with the client on board?

    IMAP-Idle and you get the mails in real-time.

    Why do you use ‘Nokia Email’?

    Sorry for my english. 🙂

  10. 10 Ace October 17, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Has anyone had a problem adding a second account? I added my personal account (IMAP) with no problem. I then tried to add my work account (POP) but all I get is a cannot connect to server response on both the phone or website. I work at a small company of 13 people so we do not use an enterprise level mail server. Thoughts?

  11. 11 Eric November 18, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Hey, my name is Eric. I just bought this Nokia E71 and I read the entire manuel and even call my cell phone provider serveral times and went into the stores and no one seems to be able to help me connect to my two emails account. I have Yahoo! and Gmail accounts and for some reason this phone will not connect to the emails to retrieve the emails….Please someone with knowledge, help me before I go back to the store and throw the phone at them, for selling something they have no idea what the phone does or understand how the phone works…..

    Thanks Eric

    hardknock2us@yahoo.com or ericboojackson@gmail or I’ll give my number to you as well just email me first.

    Again! Thanks

  12. 12 TWE March 15, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Emoze does find for personal mail like yahoo and gmail. Yahoo actually has a pull application that’ll work nicely too. If anyone figures out how to synch with Zimbra Corporate Email, please let me know.

  13. 13 Matthew April 26, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    I have such a problem to, Can not connect to my mailbox, however i can con nect to the web with the e71, I did a proper installation of pasword and user name etc etc. I went to the service shop of my provider(T-Mobile) but they can’t tell me! if anybody knows the solution I will be happy to hear it.

    Thank you!

    Mat.

  14. 14 maniakMU July 6, 2009 at 1:08 am

    For me, emoze is good. But the problem is my E63 battery life.
    After like 3 month using nokia mail, with gmail, ovi mail & yahoo mail on it, the battery life is steady. I can use my E63 for more than 2 days.


Comments are currently closed.




