How to make a screenshot?

In one of comments one of our readers asked me how to make a screenshot on Nokia E71? I thought it would be a good hint for fresh S60 platfrom’ users. If you have E71, or other Symbian-based devices, you can use simple and easy to use freeware tool called.. Screenshot. Find it at Antony Pranata home page. Enjoy! 

18 Responses to “How to make a screenshot?”


  1. 1 subcorpus October 5, 2008 at 3:14 am

    just got my e71 this morning …
    a good phone …
    thanks for all the info here …
    appreciated …

  2. 2 AC October 5, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Another screen grab app your readers may be interested in is ScreenSnapS60:

    http://terramobilis.com/

    I prefer it for QWERTY Eseries devices only because of the easier button combos for capture…

  3. 3 Grischa October 9, 2008 at 10:11 am

    The E71 is not listed in the supported phones list. Which one did you try?

  4. 4 Ibrahim52 December 10, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    exactly…e71 is not listed and i dont watn to take the risk until its been tested

  5. 5 Patrick_R December 17, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Hi mate.

    You might want to either amend, or delete your post, as proves most appropriate.

    You see, I came to your Blog even AFTER downloading the very application you mention, because can I heck figure out, how to get it to do a capture, on the E71.

    So I thought, after Googling, that your Blog was suggesting the answer.

    The problem is you see, I wish to take a screenshot of my Standby screen, with a wallpaper on it, so I can then measure the exact dimensions of the displayed wallpaper itself (the part that gets shown, as it is NOT fullscreen, before people suggest the obvious, but totally wrong “320×240”).

    But with the E71, and it’s fancy “Predictive Text Name and Number Search” from the idle screen, it seems to make ANY shortcut combination not work.

    So as many people like me will ALREADY have downloaded this app. and came here for the answer itself, as to HOW you get this app. to do it, then maybe you could either a) Update this post with the info we need, or b) Delete, or amend this post, if you find yourself that it is not possible to use on the E71.

    Cheers mate for a great Blog.

  6. 6 Patrick_R December 17, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Further to my above post:

    1) You can use Screenshot with the E71, but so far the only way I found to get it to work, is to go into “Time Delay” mode, and “Multi-screen grab” mode, and then set the clock timing with whatever shortcut you chose in any menu screen/folder on the device (I use Shift and *). Then, go back to your home screen, and it will take a timed screen grab of it (leave it a few seconds to be sure). Then stop the application, and you should have four or five screen-grabs saved in the default folder location. One of them will be of the Home Screen at least.

    2) As a consequence, I have now established that the exact correct wallpaper size and resolution for an E71 is: 320×198 pixels, which is an aspect ration of 1.616 exactly – in other words a fairly slim, widescreen image resolution, to be sure. But that is the correct Wallpaper size to use for the phone. Using exactly this size, allows you to get the sharpening correct in your Paint package of choice. But of course you can use any size ABOVE this, and as long as the aspect ration is still 1.616 then it will again work exactly, albeit giving a more softened or smoothed image. If the image is wider or taller, but larger than this size, then it will also work, but bits will get cropped and missed.

    Hope this info is useful all.

  7. 7 Mauricio Reyes April 14, 2009 at 9:15 am

    This post should be deleted. I googled “e71 screenshot” lookng for a screenshot application for the e71. This post comes out first so naturally I tried it.

    THE APPLICATION DOES NOT WORK WITH THE E71

    This post is misleading and has wasted my time (much like writing a comment on this post having to spell it out for other readers).

    Very disappointed. Will be sure to ignore this blog if it comes up again claiming to have tips on symbian devices.

    • 8 Dexter April 14, 2009 at 9:54 am

      Hmm, thank you for your comment showing your discontent but believe me or not, I use Screenshot v 3.01 for all print screens present on this blog. 🙂 I’m wondering which version have you tried and what does it exactly mean that it’s not working on your phone?

  8. 9 Mauricio Reyes April 14, 2009 at 10:13 am

    Ok, I obviously got up on wrong side of the bed this morning. I have had a play around with the app and it seems the issue I have are the following:

    – I don’t recognise an ok key on the device.
    – * key requires to be pressed also
    – # key requires to be pressed also
    – camera key does not exist on e71
    – # + * again does not work because on e71 you have to also press
    – backspace does not work on e71

    Given that the site itself which stores the file does not show the e71 as supported, this I feel, also provides a little psychological block in trying out the software for e71.

    To get the software to work on the e71 I set the shortcut to be + , I then use + (official name taken from the e71 manual).

    Ok I now have screenshots of the screen I needed on e71.

    I’m off to have a cup of tea and work on my anger management issues.

  9. 10 Mauricio Reyes April 14, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Just looked over my last comment and I see that everything I marked with the less than and greater than symbol does not display. Here is an amended version:

    Ok, I obviously got up on wrong side of the bed this morning. I have had a play around with the app and it seems the issue I have are the following:

    – I don’t recognise an ok key on the device.
    – * key requires fn key to be pressed also
    – # key requires fn key to be pressed also
    – camera key does not exist on e71
    – # + * again does not work because on e71 you have to also press fn key
    – backspace does not work on e71

    Given that the site itself which stores the file does not show the e71 as supported, this I feel, also provides a little psychological block in trying out the software for e71.

    To get the software to work on the e71 I set the shortcut to be shift key + ok key , I then use shift + “Navi™ scroll key” (official name taken from the e71 manual).

    Ok I now have screenshots of the screen I needed on e71.

    I’m off to have a cup of tea and work on my anger management issues.

    • 11 Ruben Olsen May 14, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      The Navi Scroll Key is in fact the OK key on the E71 🙂

      I also got the software to work quite fine with the Backspace key – but this is not very usable since this key is used in a lot of situations.

      \Ruben

  10. 12 waweewa May 11, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    – set the shortcut to be shift key + ok key
    – use shift + “Navi™ scroll key” (centre of the D-pad)

    Thanks to Mauricio, this works perfectly!

  11. 13 Marki June 3, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Oh well on my E71 backspace did work.
    (It might not under all circumstances however.)

    Thanks for the hint OK = Navi

  12. 14 attahun June 10, 2009 at 2:58 am

    just in case u use activefile’s screen capture; pen+ok = shift+navi

    u cant change the capture button to shift+ok, there is only pen+ok. 🙂

  13. 15 aspire July 29, 2009 at 7:16 am

    it works on my E71..

    caranya di aplikasi masuk ke menu setting>ganti shorcut ke backspace..udah deh

  14. 16 KK September 3, 2009 at 7:21 am

    The latest version, 3.01 signed, works fine for my E-71.

    Thanks to Anthony Pranata for making it free.

  15. 17 Jorge Medina December 30, 2009 at 5:53 am

    I just got my E71 this week and installed 3.01 and works like a charm, I just changed the botton to use shift+Enter.

    Best regards.

  16. 18 ile May 21, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    people: it’s working on my e71. You have to hack the phone first. It is a very good application, and it is free.


Comments are currently closed.




