Nokia Email Service for E71

As Nokia is moving from being only phones’ manufacturer to the Internet company it gives the users more and more fully functional web services and tries to integrate them with Nokia devices. One of such features is Nokia Email service available for public beta tests for several weeks. One of the supported device is Nokia E71, so if you are interested it this device or service by itself, please read this short presentation further.

What is it?
Nokia Email is e-mail push solution for S60 devices which allows users to link their POP/IMAP e-mail accounts to Nokia’s server infrastructure. Thanks to this solution they can access their electronic correspondence on the phone automatically – wherever they want, and instantly – as soon as it is being sent to them. In other words, it works the same way as well known RIM’s Blackberry.

How to start?
If you are interested in this service you can use it for free as a beta trial user. All you need to do is:
– to have compatible S60 phone, as Nokia E71 for example,
– to have e-mail account accessible with POP or IMAP protocols, like Gmail,
– it is advisable to have flat data plan, as the application generates some data traffic, which will surely affect your phone’s bill.

Now you can easily visit email.nokia.com page and start registration procedure. It’s not very long but it’s useful to remember your phone number and e-mail account password Then you can download the application which needs to be installed on the phone and it’s almost done!

How to run it?
Configuration process is very easy, actually all you need to do is input your password, define default data access point and voila! From now on, every time you receive an e-mail, it will be accessible on your phone very soon. The application starts automatically with the phone and usually works hidden. New messages are announced with voice signal and @ symbol on the main screen. You can set E71 to display latest mails’ headers on its main screen.

Is it useful?
If you are addicted to your mail and so far you are not using any commercial, operator’s service for push mail it’s definitely worth trying. You can read your mail instantly, view attachments, create, edit and send new mails as well.  It’s surely more useful when you have full keyboard device as Nokia E71. If you are not familiar with such a service it is a good starting point as well. It is also useful for those users, who are not able to use different push services because E71 is not on the list of supported devices. I’m one of them for example. My operator – Era, which offers similar solution based also on Nokia Intellisync solution so far officially doesn’t support E71.

How much?
Trial beta tests are of course free of charge but most probably in the future, when the solution will be completed it will be payable. Moreover, as I mentioned above, it uses packet data transmission, so it’s important to feel secure with your phone bills  If you are concerned about power consumption that is true that the phone with Nokia Email will be connected to data domain all the time but with moderate usage and good E71’ battery it shouldn’t shorten its uptime strongly.

Please check some screenshots presenting different actions done by Nokia Email application on flickr here or visit Nokia E71 Group photo pool.

23 Responses to “Nokia Email Service for E71”


  1. 1 Yannick August 31, 2008 at 7:45 am

    The main problem, as shown on your screen shot (the connexion is made in wifi, not in GPRS) : some phone operators don’t allow the application to work in GPRS or UMTS mode (at least SFR and Orange in France). Some ports are probably blocked…
    Everything’s fine in wifi but no connection with the mail server otherwise : the application is therefore totally useless for me

  2. 2 Property Select August 31, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    just some feedback with regards to the battery consumption. i have already tried this nokia email beta on my E71, and after installing it my phone did not last more than 24 hours on a full charge.

    kept it on for about a week, and decided the massive power drain wasn’t worth it!

  3. 3 Sam August 31, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Hi,

    If you are looking for an alternative to the standard email service on the E71 check out Profimail by Lonely Cat Games (www.lonelycatgames) I have been using this for years and it is certianly the best email service I have found. I never liked the layout of the Nokia inbox as you cannot read the subject lines clearly. If you are worried about data you can set the “Check for emials” at a time scale to suite. Or you can turn it off, so that it checks everytime you open the application.

    Sam

  4. 4 skincarediyer September 1, 2008 at 2:41 am

    When I bought my E71 it was because of the touted email capabilities.

    Little did I realize that in order to fully use those I would need to sign up for a beta email reader, which will later cost me more $$$.

  5. 5 Cheah Kuan-Yoon September 8, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Hi I like this theme.
    May I know where could I get it,please?

  6. 6 Dexter September 8, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Hi Cheah,

    You can find this theme in here: http://www.e71blog.com/category/themes/

    Enjoy!

  7. 7 Cheah Kuan-Yoon September 8, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks Dexter, bur the page couldn’t load…

  8. 8 june September 10, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Cool! Could you please let me know how to take a screen shot from the phone as you did? thanks a lot!

  9. 9 Dexter September 16, 2008 at 9:59 am

    If you read Nokia Beta Labs lobg you may have already found it, but if no please find this very useful post:

    http://betalabs.nokia.com/blog/2008/09/16/discoverable-features-for-nokia-email/

    It describes a lot of interesting keyboard shrotcuts making work with Nokia Email easier.

  10. 10 Lukasz September 23, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Hi

    I’ve registered at Nokia e-mail software but nevered received an sms with the link to upload the software. Already tried to reinstal but again no sms received.

    Any solution?

    thanks

  11. 11 Lucian October 7, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Nokia e-mail makes no sense to me. It crash and very slow when using. It costs euros for data plan and sometimes when it works, my E71 cannot get phones call.

    My E71 can check gmail right now and I have 2 gmail and one yahoo.

    Nokia email stinks it makes my E71 slow and ugly and i cannot change the stupid colors

  12. 12 Dexter October 7, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Hi Lucian,

    Good point and I’m sure Nokia E-mail team would preciate your comments. Some time ago I was using Era Mail (Nokia push e-mail solution customized and offered by my mobile network) on mine old N80 and I uninstalled it becasue results were the same: slowing down, crashes, etc. I read some comments that this new Nokia service, which is still a beta version under development, impacts phones the same way.

    Indeed instead of Nokia E-mail I use now by normal account with SMS notification and build in mail client. Works fine.

    best regards,

  13. 13 baG October 20, 2008 at 9:34 am

    If you’re looking for some information on the E71, I wrote a review (in french, rahhh sorry) here : http://www.idela.fr/index.php/Technologie/Mobile/Nokia-E71.html

  14. 14 Alles January 2, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Nobody seems to comment on the fact that with previous versions such as the E50, E51, you could have a standard pop mail account which you could program to have emails check every 15 minutes… Now you have to provide both email and password to Nokia to get the same service… except that due to their discolure agreemeent and 3rd party contractor agreements, they can trasmit this data wherever. And I don’t wonder this is necessary

  15. 15 vishal January 23, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Can we configure mail for exchange on Nokia E71 using outlook rpc over http?

  16. 16 jhon January 31, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    do i have to have internet connection to recieve e-mails in my e71 … or its as same as .text message .

  17. 17 Runin February 8, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I’m having some problems with this service…
    although the performance is ok and email composing and sending is nice and easy, for some reason, mail reception happens (if at all) in a very random manner (i.e. mostly I don’t get mail at all, but if I reset the data and sync, I might be able to receive some of it).

    I’m working with gmail and another regular POP mail.
    Anyone has any idea?

    Runin

  18. 18 andrew April 29, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    this is a great phone but I am having problens with my email. I dont understand when i delete emails from the phone it pops back up and i delete it again and it keeps showing up in my email. Can anyone help me out?

  19. 19 Miklos Krivan June 30, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I feel so bad. I have spent some hours getting started with nokia messaging on my E71 and finally I gave up. It is a horror. I just have registered hotmail because nokia sad it is the supported mail. And what the result? The nokia messaging software said I have to refresh in order to work with this account. What is this? I just wanted to have a blackberry like feeling working with my emails. It simple does not work. I unterstand that this is beta software. But not it is more minus alpha, so bad even nokia thinking a paying service? For what feature? Simple it does not work at all on my Nokia E71. The only thing what I can do using gmail client. It really works but I just wanted simple professional integrated office work on a professional enterprise level phone (i got it for christmas present from my family). What is happening at Nokia?

    Hopefully some day I can use it form my work as well as easy as it was promised.

  20. 20 Tariq January 14, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Greeting,

    kindly not that I had install Nokia Messaging Software into my Mobile, but when i try to setup the software it will not work it keep validating…

    please help me


  1. 1 Nokia Email Service for E71 | autocarsinsurance Trackback on August 30, 2008 at 5:44 pm
  2. 2 Nokia Email Service for E71 Trackback on August 30, 2008 at 6:46 pm
  3. 3 User links about "nokia" on iLinkShare Trackback on September 8, 2008 at 12:18 am
Comments are currently closed.




