How long does your Nokia E71 battery last?

After using Nokia E71 for over a month I thought it would be a good idea to ask you about your impressions. My first choice for a poll is something what for many users is really crucial – battery life. My usually lasts for 3 days, and how about yours?

90 Responses to “How long does your Nokia E71 battery last?”


  1. 1 Dawid Lorenz August 24, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    It really depends. When I have data connection always-on (push mail via IMAP IDLE from 2 accounts), then it lasts 1-2 days. Normally, without always-on connection, it can last 3 days, sometimes even 4, when not used very extensively.

  2. 2 a August 24, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    never pushed it past a day plus, but it clearly can go two full days with relatively heavy use…could probably go into day three. that is HUGE for a smartphone with push email going. one of the main reasons i switched to this phone from an htc s630 which wouldn’t make it through even one day…

  3. 3 Igor Dertkin August 24, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    I have to agreed with Dawid on that. It really depends. My usage is pretty heavy – Push, about 2-3 hours of phone conversations, some GPS, A2DP music streaming for about 30 min a day a lot of text. Day starts at 7:30 AM of the charger and I still have 2 bars by the end of the day at 11 PM. And this is all on 3G

  4. 4 Dexter August 24, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Thanks for your comments. I see that my result is not bad then.

    I usually use my E71 within 2G or dual mode, plus: up to 4 hrs/day of FM radio listening, up to 1 hr of voica calls, a few tens of messages and data transmission – a few MBs via WIFI (like podcasts downloading) and EDGE packet transmission for mail and browsing.
    This gives me 3 days of using E71 without looking for a charger.
    In comparison to old N80 that’s just a great result πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Vishal August 25, 2008 at 9:33 am

    I am surprise @ above all… mine jst last for a day n I only use it for push and browsin no phone calls…
    does anyone share this similarity ?

    • 6 Manjunath BK October 17, 2010 at 3:33 am

      I am surprised to know about the longevity of your E71 batteries of many of you. My battery never lasted more than a day. Of-late my battery life is even worse. It lasts only 3 hours and I need to keep charging it all the time. My phone is almost 8 month old. But battery was never good even when it was new.

  6. 7 gotti August 25, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I’ve been using the E71 for roughly a week and must admit that I’m underwhelmed by its battery performance. A typical day of about one hour of phone calls, just about the same time emailing, and just a few minutes of GPSing tends to bring it down to one bar (all on 3G)…

  7. 8 Roland Dobbins August 25, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Would you please enable full-text for your syndication feed? For those of us who have large numbers of feeds to follow, summary-only feeds can be a pain to read. This is a good weblog about the E71 (I intend to upgrade from my E61i in a couple of weeks), and I’d really be grateful for a full-text feed.

    Many thanks!

  8. 9 Igor Dertkin August 25, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Battery life on 3G also depends of strength and quality of the signal in particular areas.

  9. 10 rohit August 26, 2008 at 10:15 am

    i had a nokia n82. the battery typically used to last for about a day and then i got this beauty, and i kid you not, the battery easily lasts for 3 days. every single time. without a hitch. i just love the reliability of this phone πŸ™‚

  10. 11 francisco August 26, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    mine lasts for 7-8 days πŸ™‚

    Granted, my use is extremely light. 15 minutes of phone calls a week or so. No 3g. half an ahour per week to play top solitaries. 5 sms per day. A few minutes per day of wlan browsing.

  11. 13 Mobile Phone Free Gift August 27, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    well , iphone has some terrible battery.

  12. 14 Fawaz August 29, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Mine lasts one day,push email is always on,so my edge is always on,i do IM and web browsing too,but 3-4 short calls per day..

  13. 15 Vantha September 8, 2008 at 10:06 am

    My impression of the E71’s battery is that power of each battery bar, among the 7 bars, seems to be equally distributed. This means that the 1st bar disappears faster than other Nokia handsets I used in the past. Anyone has similar observation?

  14. 16 ketunis October 2, 2008 at 9:04 am

    well that is an acute observation
    among the 7 life bars to me it feels that the middle ones dissapear quicker and the last 2 seem to stay longer..
    my battery last for 3 days

    anyway there are a few tips wich will increase your battery life
    switch from 3g to gsm
    turn the wlan off when not used
    check how many apps you have open and close the ones not used
    notification light off
    power saver to none
    packet data connection to when needed
    light time out under 20 sec
    light sensor to middle
    and many more
    good luck

  15. 17 Denis November 1, 2008 at 8:36 am

    SIP kills the battery. A couple of internet calls finishes the battery completely:(

  16. 18 VL November 19, 2008 at 4:05 am

    I got it 3 days ago. Very have useage for the first 48h.From full charge it lasts about 18-20h. 3g for the most part. Internet, push on, numbizz or fring on for 1-3h + 1h. call using fring, 30 min gps…simply heavy use. I am impressed. And I’ve heard that the battery gets even better after the 1st 2-3 cycles so I hope I might get more out of it in a few days.

  17. 19 DickG December 28, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    I got myself a nice Christmas gift. Was used to work with a HTC S620 (Excalibur). For that machine the battery lasted not the full 24 hours. (Normally in the morning of the charger and around 6 PM, battery finished). I use push email, always on, moderate voice calls, no WLAN. (WLAN on the HTC is killing the battery within the hour. I needed something which was better, certainly on battery use. I fell for the looks and the feels of the E71. Fantastic phone, lots of capabilities, but the battery is not lasting longer then 24 hours. This to me s very disappointing. I have turned as much as possible off, even Bleutooth, but nothing saves me battery. Is 3G really consuming so much power? I have push email always on (Except for outside peak hours, since I work with US customers a lot and live in Europe, the peak hours are until 8 PM.
    Is there any way to optimize this?

  18. 20 DickG December 31, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Just solved the battery issue: I turned off auto mode for phone section. Set this to GSM. This will sync ail via GPRS and that is sufficient for me. When I need to access Internet, I switch the phone mode to UMTS. Battery now lasts for 4 days ad this is what I expected.

  19. 21 ray January 9, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    does anyone know how to turn from Auto mode to GSM? my e71 only gives me 2 options: auto mode and UMTS

  20. 22 James January 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    Ray, your phone is probably branded. I know the 3 network UK doesn’t allow you to select GSM only. It is built into the their firmware

  21. 23 John Fitzgerald January 22, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I’m finding my e71 fantastically useful (a great step up from the e61).

    But the battery life is disappointing:
    Two push email accounts (receiving <40 emails a day; sending much less than that); about 30-40 mins music playback; a quick glimpse at the web; <20 mins talktime- this flattens my battery by about 8pm! And this after charging overnight.

    I wonder if the battery needs reconditioning? Will pop into the 3 store today for some answers…

  22. 24 fitri January 23, 2009 at 8:24 am

    I just bought a nokia e71 a few days ago. I charged it on monday morning and the battery died on wednesday noon. I use WLAN a mere few minutes a day and i dont use any kind of emailing. I use up maybe an hour talktime and thats it. i sometimes call with speakers on. And all of that was on Dual mode with 3G im guessing. Is the 3G draining the batteries? im not sure coz this is my first ever smart phone and i was using a normal phone before this and the battery lasted quite long. So plssss i’m freaking out right now.

    • 25 Dexter January 23, 2009 at 9:13 am

      Yes, 3G mode even in standby only consumes much more enegry than 2 or 2,5G so that why if I don’t really need it I keep my phone in GSM only mode.

  23. 26 DaveM January 23, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I’m wondering how long last the battery with working gps receiver (just gps, no radio, no mp3-s, no calls, no wlan…etc)? Is it enough power for lets say 10 or 12 hours tour with active sportstracker aplication?

    • 27 Dexter January 23, 2009 at 12:06 pm

      Well I was using once NST on E71with 2G mode on, music player and camera and it made up to 6hrs. I’m sure that switching to off the mobile module, player, etc. it could last even up to 10 maybe 12 hrs?

  24. 28 Fernando February 13, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Hi, I bought my E71 a week ago. On the first 3 days I charged it twice. I called Nokia and they told me to change the phone where I bought. Now IΒ΄m waiting to see my new E71. I have an N-95 and I can get 2 days and a half of battery.

  25. 29 Flo February 20, 2009 at 10:55 am

    I have the e71 for 2 weeks now. The battery lives for 2 days (even if I use it non stop, or if I just look at it). I tought that it was a problem with the battery. I was surprised big time when I found out what the problem was. When I bought the phone on the first day I’ved installed GarminXT. The thing with this app is that it runs in the background some processes. I’ved uninstall it when i haved 3 lines in my battery level. Those 3 lines got me 1 and 1/2 days (before those 3 lines got me 8 hours). I will come back with updates after this GarminXt free charge.

  26. 30 pilgrim March 5, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Mugen Power is making 36ΓΆΓΆmAh battery for E71, check out here: http://www.mugen-power-batteries.com/product_info.php?products_id=503

  27. 31 Mike D. March 6, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    I have had my E71 for 3 months. Up until about 4 days ago I was totally impressed with its battery life. I use Push and Mail for Exchange and always got a couple days out of the battery.

    Now, my battery life has seemed to be cut in half. And i haven’t changed anything on my end.

    Can a battery start to lose a charge this significantly when only 3 months old?

  28. 32 DickG March 10, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    @Mike D:
    Please check your active network’s. The E71 is known to keep open a WLAN connection every now and then and that kills your battery. A reset is often the only way to fix

  29. 33 db March 13, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Batteries will loose their ability to hold charge over time.. Its a known fact, they will also eventually hold no charge and effectively die after a period of many charge – recharge cycles

  30. 34 cc March 17, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I just got the E71 a couple of days ago. Thing is I cannot see the battery icon that indicates how much is left on the start screen. Just a tiny, tiny symbol of an empty battery that is in the upper right corner (top menu bar). How can I tell how much battery is left? Thank you!

  31. 35 benjamin March 18, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Im so so angry about the battery life, why does such a great phone have to let me down with its battery life, i just browse the web, and text, never call, and my batteries gone definetely at the end of the day.

  32. 36 Gary March 22, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I am pretty surprised by some of the responses indicating a poor battery life. I have only had one full charge since buying it from new up to now and i have gone almost 5 days before it went flat. Being brand new i have installed countless apps, used gps alot, wifi fairly regularly and the camera and video recorder have have used quite a bit too, bluetooth has been on almost constantly , though i have not got to setting up the email on the phone quite yet. I have 3g running constant also and this is my first battery use! im guessing after the first cycle, it will increase further?

    From the replies and my own use, i am guessing the email is what kills the battery and i guess i will find out once i set this up…

  33. 37 Jason Dale March 25, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I only got my E71 this Saturday and it is the BEST phone I ever had. I did have the N95-8GB but this beauty is fantastic. I love the keayboard and screen and the battery life is AWSOME!

    On the n95-8gb if I left fring connected for 4 or 5 hours it would be down to one bar.

    Yeaterday I had it connected to fring from 7am to 10pm and in between surfed for about 2 hours, GPS was on for a total of 35mins and it was also connected to my WiFI from 7pm – 10pm when the battery finally died. It also made 7 minutes of calls.

    May not sound great to some people but positivly hurcalean compared with the n95-8gb. I’m still totally blown away by this phone, it’s the dogs dodahhs!

  34. 38 LennoxB March 31, 2009 at 11:23 am

    Hi
    I googled this site because i was quite disappointed with the battery life of my brand new e71. It lasts hardly 24 hrs. I don’t have GPS, E-mail retreive, or Wlan on. Only possible battery life costing think may be bluetooth, switched that off now. Sometimes the back side of the phone (over battery) warms up a bit. There are hardly any apps running. I will test for one or more days. If it doesn’t get any better I will try to swap it for another one, because from what U read here, the battery should really last more than 2 days with the use I make of it.

  35. 39 Justin Tran April 1, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    It’s kool. I’m using GPS everyday and check mails, internet.
    It comes to third days with only 2 lines of battery but still survive till night.
    I love this phone!

  36. 40 LennoxB April 9, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Hi There
    march 31 I commented on battery life of my new e71 which was relatively poor (about 24 hrs) with bluetooth ON. After I switched it OFF battery life is now improved enormous! After 4,5 days I still have two marks left on the battery indicator. BTW bluetooth is still on when I am driving (link to carkit), and in these last days that counts for about 4 to 6 hours of bluetooth connection. Conclusion is that bluetooth costs a lot of battery life, maybe even more when it is ‘idle’? Oh, and I shouldn’t forget to mention it: its a great phone/PDA!

  37. 41 Ron May 7, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I changed from blackberry curve to e71 two weeks ago. The curve has excellent battery life of at least 3 – 4 days. After my first charge the e71 also lasted 3 days till exhaustion. Next I started using push mail and battery life was reduced to about 30 hours, this whit BT switched off. I now tweaked the phone and switched it to GSM mode. I also sellected a black background which in theory usses less energy. Will see what happens. Fantastic phone by the way.

  38. 42 Ron May 10, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    New configuration seems to work. After 60 hours still 3 bars left!

  39. 43 Dave May 11, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    I seem to get little more than one day out of mine. I’m on 3g all day, skype connected at all times, fring when wlan is available, push email for 2 accounts and relatively heavy usage.

    I thought it was a little low, but then again I have a 3g/wlan connection constantly on.

  40. 44 Rick May 16, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    When new … battrey life was 2 days … now only 5 month sold, getting less than 1/2 day …
    Bluetooth is off
    WiFi scanning is Off
    Push email is enabled.
    I have a 3G SIM

    Dissapointed in this … previous phone 6310i was good for a week, but then it did not have email !

  41. 45 brian May 19, 2009 at 6:23 am

    My battery life was less then 3 days before I did the following. It now 4 days later from the last charge and I have have the bars left.

    Install CClock – (Screen saver) setup with no time or date display -blank screen
    Install Energy Profiler – Measure how much power your phone is using, helps with finding out what is eating your battery life.
    Install JbakTaskMan – Task Manager to see what processes are running in the background and to kill them.

    If you have Garmin installed, it runs a task in the background that kills your battery, google for solution.

    If you have installed anything programs on the memory card, it uses more battery life. Test with Energy Profiler with and without your memory card.

  42. 46 CY May 27, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    My E71 battery last pretty long. What u have to do is to disable any un-use application by “EXIT”ting it. Pls ensure the bluetooth is disable when not in use. WLAN scanning is turn “Off etc. This i believe will make your battery last longer. Cheers…

  43. 47 Joe June 22, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Well lets put it this way. I charged my E71 overnight and didn’t turn it on till I arrived at the office (7:30am) and I just ran the internet through 3.5G constantly all day with browsing and msn… and it just died a couple minutes ago (3:30pm).

    All in all I have never had a phone that I could push and pull a total of 482mb in a disembowling manner without it dying sooner.

    I love this phone. So where do I find an extended or higher mW battery ? lol cause I would need a battery, jumpers and power inverter for the places I go and things I do to this thing !!

    Kudos to Nokia !!

  44. 48 Eduardo June 23, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I have done the GSM trick and now I get 3 days battery with push email, very good performance, my only question is why when you cahnge from 3G to GSM the performance increase, before I use the Mail and the phone in 3G the battery last 3 days?? when I install the push email only one day??

    regards

  45. 49 jonas July 13, 2009 at 8:16 am

    Hi,
    My E71 battery used to last 3-4 days, with 1-2 calls a day, ocassional internet browsing. Suddenly it cannot last 12 hours even on standby. I have already shut down bluetooth and wlan detection, set notification light off and set network mode to GSM only and made sure all other applications are not running by pressing and holding down the home key. I also tried resetting back to factory setting and reinstalled the firmware. The battery still discharges within less than 12 hours.

    I installed Nokia Power Profiler and noticed that on standby the power consumption averages at 0.29W. I also noticed that the area on the back where the Camera and flash unit are located is always hot, indicative of short circuit?. I do not want to buy a new battery because it seems its not the problem. I would appreciate if you could share to me the same experience and how you were able to solve it. Ciao.

  46. 50 rob July 26, 2009 at 10:53 am

    i have the same problem with nokia E71 , battery life ,it will take up to more than 3 hr to charge and the power will last for nearly one and half day , very few calls , some test, some web browsing and skype is on all the time ,,, a great ,mobile phone but ,very poor performance about the battery life ,,

    plz any one can tell me how much time it will take to charge the phone battery fully

  47. 51 novascotia_10 July 29, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    hello,
    i bought E71 approximately 3 weeks ago..i noticed my battery consumption is very high especially when i use video call. it drain at least 2 bar per 20-30minutes of video call. Noticed too, that the back of my phone was heating (extreme hot)during the period.
    Please could anyone share any solution or having same problem like mine?
    thank you

  48. 52 Whytej2 August 9, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I have finally diagnosed my problem but i cant find a cure. Wlan connection is still active even if you turn wlan scanning off. I still get a day and a half even watching youtube for three hours on my wlan connection. I bought the phone for all the features so i dont turn them off. I just need to know how to kill the wlan connection running in the background.what is alwayonline.exe?

  49. 53 sogs September 1, 2009 at 11:32 am

    Good People,

    Could someone Please sort me out and or advice me what I should do I have owned an E71 for the last three days, battery is so frustrating I used it for 12 hours only after fully charging.

    I only use for calls and emails very minimal of data.

    I will realy appreciate.

  50. 54 Mike D. September 2, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    i had a lot of troubles with my battery. i did an update of the firmware and it fixed everything. i think it was keeping a connection open to an email account i set up, tried to delete, but couldn’t.

    i am always sure to keep active applications to a minimum. if i leave Gavity (twitter client) open in the background it drains the battery really quickly. I push exchange for outlook 4 times a day, make minimal calls and surf about 20 minutes a day. I get about 3 days on my battery.

    good luck.

  51. 55 Fonja October 25, 2009 at 12:05 am

    Guys
    I have had my E71 for 12 days now. Charged battery as per instructions when purchased per manual. I am an extremely low user. do not use email although did set up for gmail and WLAN but have WLAN off (I think – as lease it says it is). I am chaging my phone EVERY DAY. ALmost never make a call and will get an occassional text. Have always had Nokia phones and have never had such poor battery useage. Am have “discusison” with Optus as I got this on my renewed plan and they want to send it away for service and I argue the whole phone does not need to go as the battery is the issuse. Have since found y this forum as well as others. Have turned Bluetooth off now but please someone tell me how to ensure ALL internet connections are off and how do I check with mode I am in 2g or 3g and how do I change this? Any other details will be helpful – thanks heaps

  52. 56 vakatsamba October 27, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    pple can i pliz have an application tht shows the battery level as a percentage on the home screen i tried ion battery tracker but it wont install because it is not from an authorised source..cheerzzz

  53. 57 schucore November 16, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Hi, just bought my E71 4 days ago.my 1st full charge stands nearly 2 days and my 2 full charge stands for only 1 day and 1 still have 2 more bar at the end of the day.i just use it for wlan, and a few phone call.already done a few setup as per forum reply will get back later

  54. 58 schucore November 19, 2009 at 6:04 am

    hi,after the 3rd cirle of fully charge and a few setup as per forum reply my E71 can stands more than 2 days.It already nearly to 4 days by the time i’m writing this and my battery still had another 3 more bar.

  55. 59 unsigned_nerd November 22, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I have Mugen Power Battery 3600 mAh.

    – push mail, always on with the latest Nokia Messaging which synchronizes with my gmail – answering emails very often

    – a few phone calls

    – sending/receiving lots of SMSs

    – facebook via Nokia default web browser very often

    – some file transferring via bluetooth

    – some taking photos

    – some VoIP call via SkypeOut with Fring

    Fully charged at 3PM, Saturday. Now, at 7PM, Saturday, I have 4 bars out of 7 bars left. (28 hours already).

  56. 60 robyz November 22, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    well my TWO e71 both discarge in less than one day!!!
    it started worsening after few months since I bought them. Installing the nokia power profiler (I suggest all to intall it) I noticed that the standby current is ok, less than 8ma sreen black; as the battery is 1500mah they are enough days in stand by.
    BUT, every 5 seconds, some process starts that consumes 250ma for one or two seconds.. 250ma!! it is like if you do a 2 seconds call each 6 seconds… batteries so wont’last one single day.
    I tried to understand what the process is, had in practice no foreign programs, well my comclusion is that the wifi scanning is never closed also if you never activate it or scanning appears not activated, becuse activating it the consumption is not changed..
    I’ll try to see if can lock it.

    Someone said that upgrading the firmware closes the problem, but i think that a serious seller should suggets all customers to upgrade, because this is very serious bug for a serious work phone. But you nokia never did, reseller don’t know and change batteries, keep phones for days.. bad, very bad of you..

  57. 61 robyz November 22, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    SOLVED BUT NOT TRIVAL SO IF your e71 batteries don’t last, READ..

    well I upgraded the firmware to the new 200.something.. after some efforts (108Mbyte download..), then reloaded my backup data, and finally …again the same problem!!
    Now i looked better in deep, with the profiler i saw that in fact there was still a recursive process consuming 250ma, lasting about 10 seconds, sleeping for exactly 30 seconds. Sure this is the consumption problem (shame on Nokia).
    Well i looked inside the phone data/call log and I noticed many data connections, each about 30 seconds, to an old wifi point no longer available.. this happened also if I was not asking any wifi scan and apparently not any net service, but that process insistently wants some old wifi point access reply.. also if i connect to an actually working wifi, do the job with the new wifi, well, when finished, the process goes back hungry to ask the older wifi .So i deleted the old wifi point in the list of access points: the phone battery now is ok!
    I think it was not even necessary to do the firmware upgrade.
    this is a bad bug that Nokia did not debug (shame on them, e71 is a business phone).

    If your e71 batteries don’t last check your phone log, if you find many unsuccessfully accesses to some old unavailable wifi point, well delete the offending access point and … let me know if you solved!

    roberto

    well still remains a recursive process 250ma consumption, lasting 3-4 seconds and sleeping 1 minute.. nokia, nokia….!!!!

  58. 62 Olivia smith January 5, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    it is very nice phone cheap and use ful also .. every one should take this phone and camera is there with flash and at last it is 3g phone.. πŸ™‚

  59. 63 Richard Poorer January 28, 2010 at 8:45 am

    Hi all,
    Quite frankly, I like E71. But I agree with most of us that the battery problem is with Nokia and Nokia should do something about this. I follow the tips and tricks as mentioned here, but still cannot go pass two days. I have to charge nearly everyday. I really don’t use the phone at all. Just make call to family members on Voda. When I use GPS, I always use the car charger.
    BTW, I have upgraded my software too.
    A message to Nokia: Please help!!!!

  60. 64 alexander January 31, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    my e71 lasted exactly for 24h after first charge. in that first 24h did firmware update to v.400, installed Garmin 5.00.40 and about 10 other apps, couple of themes, sent about 30 SMSes, 30min of calls, 30min of wlan, 10-15min of listening music over phone speaker, installed nokia energy profiler. numerous usb connections with my laptop, pc suite sync over bluetooth (just ot check if its working), also did some apps uninstaling too.
    so i would say thats it, for first charge, not bad at all.
    phone settings:
    brightness set to middle, gsm only, no email setings, wlan scaning off, all screen timeouts set to 10 seconds, power saver animation off, competely black theme set, deleted all wlan acces points that phone stored.
    after second charge of battery started energy profiler, and put it into background.
    curently 4h of use, after charge, couple of calls, and couple of sms, profiler says average consumption 0.13W, battery remaining time 50h. no random power spikes, as some reported, power line as close as flat in idle mode.
    its not as much as i expected, since my previous phone was Nokia E61 and it lasted for 4-5 days without a swet, i guess this would last for 3 days max.
    still wont judge until 5 full discharging cycles.

  61. 65 unsigned_nerd January 31, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    From my experience, e71 does not support “phone call” for more than a few times per day. I simply mean if you have too many phone calls, you will run out of battery too soon.

    Or if you use it for “push mail”, the battery will run out very soon too.

    But if you use it for listening music, it will last long enough.

  62. 66 unsigned_nerd February 3, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    amazingly, i have just bought the e72. its battery is amazing. i can 100% sure i can use it for a day. 12 hours with nokia messaging email on (sending / getting emails once every hour) + 10 phone calls + 2 sms. The battery just went down a bar. But 2 hours later, it dropped another bar. 2 hours later another bar.

    Anyway, I can now use e72 safely without Mugen.

  63. 67 Deanis February 13, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    My E71 battery lasted 1 full day with pretty heavy usage. I would play the radio all day, or MP3s (which would drain my battery even more). It would usually be flat 2-3 hours before I went to bed… Which I don’t mind, since I am sleeping beside the charger. But if I had to work late, this would be a no-no. SO… I bought a Mugen power battery @ 3600mAh (that means Milli-Amp hours for those who don’t know). that is almost 2.5 times the standard capacity of the phone. It may be bulky, but I like it! actually easier to hold the phone lol. Just charged it yesterday, and will see how long i get out of it! πŸ˜€

  64. 68 Me February 17, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    So I discovered that using Nokia Messaging consumes my battery a lot because it keeps a 3G connection open. I like to receive my emails as soon as possible so I would like to have it sync frequently. However, leaving the connection open is killing my battery. I checked the packet data log and it tells me the duration of the connection was 9 hours sending and receiving less than 1MB! I have set the packet data connection to only turn on when needed but it won’t obey.

    Anyone know what I can do? I had to resort to going offline in order to save my battery but not receiving mails is torture. I can retrieve them less frequently but that defeats the aim.

  65. 70 Marcin April 18, 2010 at 9:36 am

    My E71 stands on battery 7-8 days, 6 when using it a lot, 8 in case of just few messages and phone calls a day.

    But when I bought it the battery last for only 2 days, no matter what I was doing.

    after a month or so I searched couple of nokia forums, and found out that nokias have sometimes problems with uncontrolled processes runned in the background and consuming a lot of power.

    in my case the problem was a Garmin navigation installed, when installed it started some power consuming process, which even when the app was turned off, was still runned in the background (I couldn’t know it’s running, it was hidden).

    after uninstalling the garmin, the battery last for 7-8 days until now.

    Instead I’m using now Nokia maps as my navigation (which isn’t so good, maps are crap and old, but the battery life is perfect now)

  66. 71 Hana April 27, 2010 at 5:17 am

    My Nokia E71 cellphone has to be charged every 2 days. The push email application (1 account) is always on.

  67. 72 sushma June 3, 2010 at 5:18 am

    2_3days ago i was travelling in car@80kms/h onthe national highway when my E 71began to beep.when i saw the screen battery was getting charged from no where.within two minutes battery was charged fully and the message of fullly charged battery appeared. During surfing i found that nokia has filed patent for self chaging battery. Then i sent email to nokia customer care usa narrating the incident. Incidentally nokia representative replied that it is normal for mobile batteries to get self charged with piezoelectric crystals during motion. Thus my E71 getting fully charged automatically during motion is normal event according to nokia but for me it was a new discovery.

    • 73 Richard Poorer June 6, 2010 at 8:07 pm

      “…battery was getting charged from no where.”

      At that time did you have your phone connected to the car through the car charger?

      • 74 sushma June 7, 2010 at 8:30 am

        no_no. The cell phone was kept in the right pocket of my trousers.suddenly the beep sound came to notice and when i took out the mobile it was charging from piezocrystals asper nokia specialist.

  68. 75 Amar June 17, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I feel poor performance of NOKIA E71, battery life. it losy in just day. I will complaint to Customer care. If u have smart phone then u will expect good battery life, if didnt then i request other to choose other company model.

  69. 76 gazman June 19, 2010 at 11:45 am

    How long should I initial charge a brand new E-71 battery

  70. 77 petra.c July 4, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    Hi guys!

    Could anyone help me, I have a nokia E71 about a year now and the battery was operating normal up to yesterday, but today the back of the phone at the camera is really hot and its taking a mental amount of time to charge? Do I need a new battery or is it a problem with the phone?

  71. 78 screamoinside July 26, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Since I upgrade to the newest firmware and install Garmin, my E7 battery last for 2 days
    Before I do ’em, it last about 3 days.
    Is it about Garmin or the new firmware?

  72. 79 abhishek September 4, 2010 at 3:30 am

    i just got nokia e71..the phone is wonderful but..the battery sucks..

    with 3g off and no emails..just some phone calls, and texts..and the battery last for around 12 hours or so..

  73. 80 marcin September 6, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Guys, I don’t know what you have run on them, but mine is also a year old, and battery last 4-5 days, 4 days when using gps (nokia maps) for around 3 hours during this time. I do dozens of text messages daily, some phone calls, I’m not using email, WIFI is off, 3G ON,

    make sure you don’t install Garmin satnav, and it’s known to kill nokia’s battery even if not turned on

    • 81 LL November 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      are u sure about Garmin? Could you please present some details? Because i’m using it often. Thank you in advance and bets regards.

      • 82 marcin December 8, 2010 at 10:27 pm

        Tested on 2 E71, 2 different versions of Garmin, both phones (mine and friends) battery life dropped to 2 days from 5-6 after installation, just removing garmin and formatting memory helped.

        I’m certain of that, well tested as I couldn’t believe that app can consume battery even if it isn’t used.

  74. 83 Fonja September 7, 2010 at 7:16 am

    Make sure you have any roaming, internet, email, push etc off. I only use my for the odd phone call and text and can get 4 – 5 days easily. When I am away from home and make more calls etc it only drops by about a day. Basically don’t let anything into your phone and it will last longer…

  75. 84 Rico September 29, 2010 at 2:29 am

    I have nokia E61i since april 2008. Battery life is impressive 7-8 days, 2-3 hours calls in this period of time. wifi activatete 10-20 min every day, music 30min every day.
    can someone recomand me a phone which last 4-5 days in same conditions with same features or better?
    Android phone or Nokia, 2009-2010?

  76. 85 dosso October 17, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    If you remove the memory card from your E71, THE BATTERY WILL LAST 7 DAYS OR MORE (it depends by the use). You can easily try for yourself.

    IMHO it depends on the number of applications installed in the memory card and shortcuts in the home screen. They spend lots of energy to stay constantly connected.

    I have 410.21.010 firmware. New firmware could fix this big problem. Nokia, please do something!!!

    what do you think about it?

  77. 86 kh November 4, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    I have a lot of programmes currently installed on my e 71.Now I am thinking of removing the unwanted ones and thereby extend battery life.But would it be possible for us to scan through the programmes and see which one could be removed/retained ?Awaiting your suggestions.

    • 87 LL November 23, 2010 at 8:42 pm

      I have changed my old e71 battery (which lasted 1 day) to a new one (original from a Nokia e52 device bought) and it lasts not more than 2 days. WTF???? New original battery – only 2 days? Now i am concerned whether the phone itself is the problem because i am not hardly using it during the day: few calls (2 hours), no gprs, no gps, no wifi, no sms.

  78. 89 Shakir Husain December 20, 2010 at 9:54 am

    I am using Nokia E-71 From February 2010 .But i am suffering from last 1 month bettry automatic down problem.pls give me right solution what will do that.


  1. 1 It’s not so easy being e-green | TechnoBlog Trackback on February 19, 2009 at 3:06 pm
Comments are currently closed.




