E71? Good, Bad and Ugly, Episode 1

OK, folks! I have been playing with my E71 for more than two weeks, so I think it’s time for first really solid impressions about what is good, bad, and ugly about it. I think it seems sensible to publish this kind of posts regularly, as experience with device will be more detailed. Maybe you would like to prepare your own lists as well?

Good

After using Nokia N80 for almost a year, having two batteries and chargers almost everywhere (home, job, plus USB mobile charger) I really love E71’ battery! The battery lasts for about 3 days of my intensive usage. A friend of mine who bought his device a few days after I got mine, wrote me that his phone works even up to 9 days! Awesome!

Moreover, the device is really well designed. Slim, sexy, definitely one of the best looking Nokia devices available. It reminds me the times when 7110 was as desirable as E71 is now.

Bad

GPS starts in E71 quite slowly and it seems to be less precise, than external Bluetooth using GPS modules. It can be notices particularly when you use application like Nokia Sports Tracker. The important question is if, hopefully, this can be improved by further software changes?

What seems a problem currently, and what let’s hope will improve soon, is the lack of software. E71 allows using some S60 applications written for previous models (like E61i), but some are still not compatible at all. There is no Fring, Yahoo!Go works only in version 2.0, SplashID work is unstable, etc. Maybe this could be a good idea to create Top 10 of useful software for E71?

Ugly

Camera used in E71 is the most disappointing element. What’s wrong with it? Poor quality of pictures taken without direct light from the background. There is no way to save settings, like white balance, which results in too dark pictures. No good flash, and no geo-tagging. At least the camera application is fast.

22 Responses to “E71? Good, Bad and Ugly, Episode 1”


  1. 1 kansir July 29, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I am now using Nokia 6290, looking forward to E71 in Hong Kong, China.

    I would like to ask some question about E71 :

    1. As E71 has Wi-Fi for internet surfing, do i need to install any anti-virus / internet security software?

    2. Is it worth to enable encryption function for internal / external memory? will it slow down to performance?

    3. i find that micro-sd card has two type : class 4 and class 6. What’s the different? Which type should i buy for E71? (I want a 8GB micro-sd)

    Thank you.

  2. 2 Dawid Lorenz July 29, 2008 at 9:28 am

    I won’t agree on GPS. IMHO GPS gets a fix *really* quickly, as opposed to Samsung i780 and even HTC Kaiser – devices I’ve had before. Accuracy is also pretty OK, but I must admit not always ideal.

    With camera – well, E71 is not intended as a multimedia-monster, so I’m not surprised with rather poor camera quality. However, macros are quite OK, especially after discovering autofocus button – press ‘T’ while camera is on (btw, ‘T’ is quite convenient and intuitive shortcut as for autofocus, isn’t it ;).

    Couple of sample macro shots made with my E71: http://stuff.adl.pl/volvo/jezioro/ (first 8 pics)

  3. 3 Dexter July 29, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Kansir,

    Regarding WLAN connectivity and issue of security – I don’t think it’s more dangerous than standard packet transmission. There is bigger danger of sniffing in wireless networks for passwords, etc. so you should be careful where you’re browsing at. I actually tried to install Norton Security on E71 but it doesn’t work fine yet.

    E71 offers encryption for both internal memory and memory card, but as I haven’t used it so far it hard for me to say how it works. Maybe it would be a next good topic for a short test?

    MicroSD cards are supporting different data transmission rates (classes 2, 4, and 6) and it’s quite easy – the higher the number of class, the faster transmission. Check this link: http://www.sdcard.org/about/speed_class/
    Unfortunately I’m not sure which class of cards supports E71, but class 6 will work for sure.

    I hope it was helpful,

  4. 4 kansir July 29, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Thank you very much, Dexter.

    Your information is very useful. Looking forward to see your encryption test.

  5. 5 Dawid Lorenz July 29, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Forgot to mention the battery – I must strongly agree on that one! Today is a 4th day since last charging and I still have 2 bars on my battery indicator. I’m under the 3G coverage all the time (which is way more power-hungry), and my usage is rather moderate. I am truly impressed, as I don’t remember any of my recent phones that would last on single battery charge more than 2-3 days! Well done, Nokia 🙂

  6. 6 Bas H. July 29, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Good: size, design, and all-round character.

    Bad: indeed the camera is not great. By the way, I learned from Steve L. of AAS that after installing Location Tagger you can geotag the pics. It indeed works. if now only Ovi would show pics on a map instead of a map with the picture.

    Battery life: I hardly get three days of intermediate usage. Is this abnormal?

    Bottom line: I love the phone!

  7. 7 shunzee July 29, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I totally agree with you about the camera. It sucks. I know E71 is not targeting multimedia applications, but that seems to me is just an excuse.

    About the geotag, try locr. It’s a SW comes with E71. Locr needs to be running before the camera gets activated. You will be asked if you want to use last known GPS position after a shot. Press ‘yes’. And then asks if you want to edit your picture in locr, that’s a bit annoying. I always say no because I don’t want to. But anyway, you got the geotag in your picture. You don’t have to upload pictures to locr afterwards, I’m using flicr and it works fine, recognizes geotag and shown pictures on the map.

  8. 8 leo July 30, 2008 at 11:08 am

    In addition to camera, Another thing bad I found about E71 is its loudspeaker. I don’t know if this is only with my phone. But the volume of hands free is VERY low. If it a little crowded place, then you can not use the loudspeaker, because you won’t be able to hear the call.

    Otherwise, this phone is a charm. I am having this phone for about 2 weeks, and I am loving it more and more day by day. Not noly it works faster, and has all the features, it looks damm good too.

  9. 9 Amos July 30, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    About GPS reception:

    I’m not sure how common is the knowledge that the GPS signal sent from the satellites is very weak and easily blocked (even by trees you drive under). It certainly can’t penetrate through roofs and will be weaker even next to a window.

    There is also the issue of how many satellites the receiver can “see”, with 12 satellites giving maximum precision and speed. If Dexter uses it in a more built-up area than Dawid then this could explain the difference. I see in page 77 of the User Guide an option to see “Satellite Status” and on page 79 they mention a “GPS indicator”. What does it show you?

    All of the above (not “seeing” enough satellites) can cause delays in initial position locking and slower updates.

    Another point is that the GPS’ receiving antenna is usually orientation-sensitive. I don’t see in the User Guide any mention about this. Closest is to make sure your hand doesn’t cover the antenna.
    It could be that reception will improve when the antenna is flat (parallel to the ground). The question in that case is how is it oriented relative to the device itself.

    At least back in the olden days when only pilots and captains cared or could use a GPS, external antennas could help a lot to improve reception. Maybe this is another add-on to try to look for.

    Bas H.:
    I don’t have an E71 but from the other responses here it sounds like maybe you got a lemon and should check on how to improve it.

    Also, stand-alone GPS receivers used to be battery eaters (easily go through four AA batteries in less than 12 hours of straight usage). Same with Bluetooth. Are everyone here having their GPS and Bluetooth on all the time?

  10. 10 chintanpal August 8, 2008 at 10:12 am

    hi there…

    i want to delete an application from my phone or a theme..wich i accidently downloaded it…how can i do that..???

  11. 11 Dexter August 8, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Hi Chintanpal,

    It’s easy. To remove application choose it’s icon and press Options (left function key) and choose delete option. You can do it also by checking list of installed apps with Application Manager. Themes are listed in Tools menu. You can remove it the same way.

    regards,

  12. 12 chintanpal August 9, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    thanks mate..appreciated…cheers….

  13. 13 Enoch September 25, 2008 at 5:48 am

    I want to get a Nokia E71, but I’ve read about some people having problems with dust under the screen cover. Do you have that problem? Or have you heard about people who have that problem? (Please e-mail your reply, if you can. Thanks!)

  14. 14 QE71 December 16, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I thought the A-GPS in this unit can not be used in stand-alone mode (must be going through a service provider with extra service charge).

    Can this unit be used in a stand-alone mode, i.e. without paying a service fee? Thanks very much.

  15. 15 Ryan January 23, 2009 at 4:44 am

    I just ordered one today and I hope its has good as all of you say

  16. 16 Girish March 13, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I bought E-71 reading lot of reviews and after doing some research.

    I am disappointed with the speed of the phone. It takes a long time to open the menu or any other application. Tried switching off the internet but still works like its hanged and responds after 30 seconds to one minute.

    Is there any solution to this or do i have to live with it?

    Thanks

    Girish

  17. 17 ekene March 23, 2009 at 8:26 am

    i installed some software on my e71 and i cant seem to open them tried deleting them can not delect them please can anybody tell me what to do.

  18. 18 elegend March 24, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Hi everybody,

    I’ve the same problem as ekene.

    I’ve installed some applications before the last firware update. After updating firmware installed applications are no more running. But there are in the Application Manager. And it’s impossible to delete them…

    Any solution/suggestion?

    Tanks

    Fabian

  19. 19 renii June 6, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    hi all,

    as for themes, i can install but if i want to delete, doesnt show me the option for deleting it… pls help

  20. 20 fred August 10, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    my camera on my e71 is good, and i disagree with gps
    but i am totally with you on the lack of software, the software support is ok but it seems as if it is hard to find apps, themes, ring tones, etc;

  21. 21 phils October 23, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Good:
    Looks, qwerty, search, speed

    Bad:
    camera disappointing, battery drain out in max 36hrs normal usage, loudspeaker poor – very low volume, dust gets under the screen, poor finishing of screen – not upto the standard of this range of phone(use the phone in a dark place, you can see light from under the screen not fit-to-size, awkward – this will bother you if you have an eye for proper fittings), no after sale service (Nokia Customer Care is a joke in India) – I went to show my battery and they told to leave the battery for 10 days!!!!

  22. 22 phils October 23, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    …. to add to the above.

    bought my e71 on 26Sep09.

    also bought a nokia blue tooth. the ear holder broke in 3 weeks (no accident, no dropping, just plain broke with normal usage in 3 weeks), very poor stuff that breaks on usage in 3 weeks. Nokia care said cant do anything your loss, sorry!


Comments are currently closed.




