E71 WLAN and Bluetooth MACs

Wireless MAC, originally uploaded by Dexte-r.

If you are using E71 (or other E and N Series’ devices) you may encounter issue with identifying MACs (hardware addresses) for built-in WLAN and Bluetooth modules. Don’t worry! It’s very simple. If you want to connect your phone with your wireless router and it uses MAC filtering try these codes following with green button.

*#62209526# (for WLAN MAC)
*#2820# (for Bluetooth MAC)

32 Responses to “E71 WLAN and Bluetooth MACs”


  1. 1 Aleksandar Stefanovic July 11, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I need balkans product code for Nokia E71. Please if your have this, send me on my mail. Thanks so much.

  2. 2 Dawid Lorenz July 13, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Widzę, że masz E71 z polskim menu. Czy mógłbyś podać jej Product Code? Ja zamówiłem już E71, ale w UK i zapewne będzie bez polskiego menu i znaków na klawiaturze, więc czeka mnie reflash.

    Dziękuję z góry i pozdrawiam.

  3. 3 Armando Zanardi July 28, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    WLAN Trouböes with Netgear and Airport WiFis

    Having severe troubles connecting the E71 with WPA2/PSK secured hidden networks.
    Wont connect at all to Airport, will load just 1 webpage on the Netgear?

    Any infomation form soe one of you?
    regards
    Armando

  4. 4 h4x0r September 17, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    I assume you are trying to connect to your home based wireless network. It would be good if you get the following details about your N/W before you proceed. These are typically available in routers admin login.

    N/W SSID Name, What kind of security it implements and any keys you would need to authenticate or encrypt/decrypt.

    A. Basic Settings
    ==============
    1. From home/stand-by screen goto Menu > Tools > Settings > Connection > Access Points

    2. Options > New Connection Point

    3. Provide a connection name.

    4. Data bearer = Wireless Lan

    5. Network Name = Your network’s SSID (if its not-hidden you can click “Search for Networks” otherwise enter it manually)

    6. Network status = Hidden / Public (it should correspond to the router setting)

    7. WLAN Network Mode = Typically for secure n/w its “Infrastructure”

    8. WLAN security Mode = (it should correspond to the router setting, typically its “WPA/WPA2”)

    9. WLAN Security Settings = (keys corresponding to your secure n/w. Note this option varies based on the option chosen in step 8 above.)

    10. Home Page = (you can leave it blank).

    A. Advanced Settings (Typically required in case of Static IP)
    =================

    11. Options > Advanced Settings > IPv4 Settings

    12. If its static then click Option > change and enter the IP address.

    13 Otherwise if its dynamic (DHCP based) then this setting should be set at “Automatic”.

    14. DNS Server = Typically its Automatic.

    * 2 months ago

    Source(s):
    1. Once you are inside “Menu > Tools > Settings > Connection > Access Points” click ” options > help”.
    2. I set it up myself within 45 seconds.

  5. 5 fnagi October 16, 2008 at 10:10 am

    hi,

    I tried to setup my office wlan on e71. our wlan is wpa-psk and key is 64 characters. surprisingly i can only enter 63 keys – mobile stops taking input after 63rd key is entered.

    can I change settings else where to get it to accept 64 characters?

    on the other hand it has setup fine on my home wifi which has shorter length key

    any tricks?

  6. 6 Juan Lga December 31, 2008 at 12:06 am

    My new Nokia E71 with Symbian OS is working fine for Internet Navigation with 3G, Open WIFI connection and at my home WIFI Network configured with WEP encryption.

    But I do have problems by trying to connect to the Corporate WIFI LAN Network, My company uses WPA/WPA2, TKIP with EAP “Protected EAP (PEAP)” which uses a Internal Authority Certificate “Secured password (EAP-MSCHAP v2” by loading an in-house file *.cer that MS Office as well as Smartphones with Office Mobile can load/install the file and within the Autorithies Certifies the Encription mode is presented to be selected.

    Into my Nokia E71 Symbian there are many Authorities Certificates (Baltimore, Entrust.net, Equifax Secure Global, Global Sign, GTE Cyber, Valicert, Starfield, GoDaddy, VeriSign, Thawte Server, Nokia Root, MIDP2, 260 Online, SymbianA,B,C) but CAN NOT FIND A WAY to install an additional certificate… In Office Mobile appears “COMPANYNAME” you select that and as far as you are an Network User and Passwork user you can connect to Intranet Applications as well as navigate into the Corparate Network.

    As far as I select all the WIFILAN options WPA/WPA2, with EAP “Protected EAP (PEAP) –> (EAP-MSCHAP v2) its prompts a Certification Error because the missing *.cer file.

    Does anybody knows how to add an extra Authority Certificate into the Symbian Nokia E71 phone to get WiFi LAN Corporative connection?

    Thanks in advance for your help and answers…

  7. 7 Fred February 6, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Have the same problem with Cisco wireless I have at work and installing a certificate. Han anyone found an answer for a Nokia E71 ?

  8. 8 RASHMI PATEL February 7, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Just updated my firmware to 200.21.118. I used to browse internet through my home net work and also through any hotspot at the airport. Having updated to firmware 200.21.118 , i cannot now access even my home net work. I tried all possible method. I get the error message:::
    WLAN CONNECTION ALREADY ACTIVE. CLOSE IT AND TRY AGAIN. Can anybody please help me sort out this problem.

    • 9 eizam yusof January 4, 2010 at 7:43 am

      Dear Rashmi, i also got problem like your, so could you tell me how you solve the problem, please email me at cbe62782yaho.com. Your help is much appreciated. Thank You.

  9. 10 Fred February 10, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Have the same problem with Cisco wireless I have at work and installing a certificate. Han anyone found an answer for a Nokia E71 ???

  10. 11 mouse February 15, 2009 at 4:23 am

    h4x0r

    THX very much your steps were clear and working :))

    great job posting it

  11. 12 ahmad March 4, 2009 at 12:29 am

    i am trying to connect ma e71 with my house wifi system..
    messege appears ..
    ENABLE TO CONNECT..
    INVALID WLAN PRE-SHARED KEY..
    but this same key i am using already for my laptop aswel..
    plz if sumone knwo about any thing how to connect wifi..
    plz help me out..thnx in advance for da person..

  12. 13 ead March 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    ahmad
    March 4, 2009 at 12:29 am
    i am trying to connect ma e71 with my house wifi system..
    messege appears ..
    ENABLE TO CONNECT..
    INVALID WLAN PRE-SHARED KEY..
    but this same key i am using already for my laptop aswel..
    plz if sumone knwo about any thing how to connect wifi..
    plz help me out..thnx in advance for da person..

    I FACED THE SAME PROBLEM …JUST PUT THE KEY aS IS , THAT IS EXACTLY AS IN THE CASE SENSITIVE FORM : BY DEFAULT U R NOKIA WILL TAKE THE LOWER CASE WHEN U TYPE THE KEY …BUT MAKE SURE U TYPE IN UPPER CASE IN CASE U R KEY IS IN UPPER CASE ….SOUNDS TOO SIMPLE TO BE TRUE BUT WORKED FOR ME

  13. 15 ead March 10, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    can somebody help me …i can recieve email ..but when i try to send it ( both using wi fi ) its says “WLAN CONNECTION ALREADY ACTIVE. CLOSE IT AND TRY AGAI” this is only while sendin it ay the same time while recieving it downloads seemlessly ???

  14. 16 Yo March 21, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Hello,
    How can I change my WLAN MAC address ? There has to be a way to rewrite the OS NETWORK STACK so when needed to use a different MAC address not the one that’s been burned on the device.

  15. 17 cadum April 2, 2009 at 1:27 am

    i have the same proble with fnagi, I tried to setup my office wlan on e71. our wlan is wpa-psk and key is 64 characters. surprisingly i can only enter 63 keys – mobile stops taking input after 63rd key is entered.

    can I change settings else where to get it to accept 64 characters?

    on the other hand it has setup fine on my home wifi which has shorter length key

    please, help me

  16. 18 vivekjohn May 13, 2009 at 8:13 am

    I want to use e71 as wlan adapter for my pc…i got wlan connection in my e71 that I want to connect to my pc through a bluetooth.i made connection between pc and e71.bt nt able to use through wlan.can only use net by the service provider.is it possible to use e71 as a wlan adapter.

  17. 20 Juan Lga June 4, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    There is a way to configure a PROXY into the E71 defauly Browser or any other Web Browser (I’ve already installed teh Firefox and doesn’t prompt it)??

  18. 21 Ian Stevenson July 2, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Just a quick reply to the person who was trying to add a certificate to use with the EAP plugins.

    I giot a certificate file from my administrator at work ( a .der) file) I connected my E71 via USB and transferred the file to my phone. It ended up on the memory card in the others directory. I moved it over to the ‘other’ directory on the phone.

    I then used the phones file manager to locate the file, clicked on it and it installed itself. I weas then able to see it in the long list of certificates.

    Sadly I still can’t connect to my LAN at work but I think I am quite a lot closer to the solution.

  19. 22 Tristan August 10, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Hi! I was wondering if there was some way to connect my E71 to my computer through a wifi signal? (not Bt or USB)

    thanks 🙂

    • 23 Dexter August 12, 2009 at 9:26 pm

      If you can share you network connection from PC via WLAN, the phone should be access the Internet, also remote syncing, for example with ovi.com etc. I haven’t heard about using WLAN for PC Suite.

  20. 24 Abiola October 1, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Anytime ki want to connect to a woreless network, my Nokia E71 keeps displaying system error. What should i do?

  21. 25 majid October 4, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Hello

    i have laptop hp6000 with bluetooth and also it is connected to internet through lan cable, i am trying to get access of that internet on mobile which is e71 through bluetooth network, please guide with the procedure.

    Thanks Regards

  22. 26 Bryanna November 22, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    I just ran into problems trying to connect to my home wireless. I could connect easily before it never asked me for a pre-shared key or password.
    and now nothing cant access at all.
    Could someone talk me through the baby steps of what to do that would be great cos im about the throw the phone through the window

  23. 27 Eth December 25, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    This worked wonders .. Thanks alot . 🙂

  24. 28 weerwater December 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    hi there Cadum, I’m going to take your issue into the new year. I have encountered exactly the same limitation at 63 char’s! Luckely I have two different AP’s at home, one of which has just a 29 char’s key. Problem there is the signalstrength, so I still want the 64-one to connect also, without having to reset all other 9 connected machines to a less strong key. So please give me some help on this issue too…

  25. 29 ASHKER December 29, 2009 at 9:52 am

    hey

    i am having problem with my E71
    i can access internet at home but i am not able to connect at work place

    kindly advise

  26. 30 himanshu ojha January 19, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Hello

    i am having a laptop hp with bluetooth and also it is connected to internet through wifi, i am trying to get access of that internet on mobile which is e71 through wifi network, but when i am connect it shows a error that ” general feature not supported” please guide with the procedure.

    Thanks Regards

  27. 31 Dushyant Singh February 7, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Hello All. I’m having this problem with my E71. I’ve connected my device with the existing WLAN at my home. But I’m not able to access the network shared folders. Files and folders being shared out of different PCs but authorized to access.

    Could somebody please help me out? Thanks in advance.

  28. 32 jani May 5, 2010 at 6:58 am

    any one knows how 2 use e71 as wi fi adaptor for desktop pc? plz replay ..


Comments are currently closed.




