New software update for Nokia E71 – 500.21.009

Today finally my E71 using SW version 410.21.010 has discovered new firmware update available. Newest version is described as 500.21.009. Number suggests bigger changes than last time. I have read some rumors about this software in last few days, but so far my phone with Polish product code and no operator customization couldn’t see it available. Today finally did it.

As usual I recommend doing your phone memory copy before you decide to flash your phone. You can easily do it with new Ovi Suite 2 or some older tools. Flashing can be nicely done with Ovi Suite or if you like to be tester.. beta version of new Nokia Software Updater available via Beta Labs.

Please keep in mind that if you have phone customized with operator’s variant the update may not be yet available for your E71.

35 Responses to “New software update for Nokia E71 – 500.21.009”


  1. 1 gt July 5, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Thank you.

    I noticed those two changes:

    ovi maps: 3.03
    quickoffice: upgrade from 5.3.26 to 6.2.388

  2. 2 Rutger July 5, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    If that is all that has changed than upgrading the firmware is a waste of time. Those upgraded applications can simply be downloaded separately . If this is all than I am not going true all this trouble.

  3. 3 Prosenjitz July 6, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Nokia E71 is still one of the best phones ever made. And your blog is always a pleasure to read. But now a days you are posting very few posts. Please post more entries more frequently.

  4. 4 AP July 6, 2010 at 7:59 am

    I can see Lotus Traveller on my phone after the firmware update. Not that it is terribly important. But thats another thing I can see. Any sign of a changelog anywhere?

  5. 5 Dexter July 6, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Indeed it looks like this SW update includes all important applications like Ovi Maps 3.03, Quick Office 6 and Ovi Store (but only 1.16) and Lotus Notes Traveler. Moreover finally Download! is no longer present there.

    I believe as always there are some error corrections which are not easily visible for the users.

    I have also found change log blogged here: http://dailymobile.se/2010/07/02/nokia-e71-and-e66-firmware-updated-to-v500-21-009/

    My E71 works nice and fast. Any problems discovered?

    • 6 Erwin July 9, 2010 at 2:28 am

      A few bug found:
      - Menu | Communication | Contacts –> fails to launch contact list
      - Make a call, right button becomes “End Call” instead of Enable Loudspeaker.

      • 7 Clem August 28, 2010 at 1:37 pm

        Phone RM-346 upgraded from V100 to 500.21.009.
        I found a Very annoying change (I’m using mainy time/day the camera for my work);

        Previously I could shoot macro around 4 cm + press 2 for auto focus. Since the update camera can’t focus bellow 20 cm, it require to select Scene modes> Close-up mode. In addition the minimum distance jump to 10 cm min. I can see the details as before

        Do you have the same thing ?

      • 8 Ricky December 8, 2010 at 9:35 pm

        I AGREE!!! The END CALL button is useless, even when you have the real RED END CALL button just below then RIGHT button. It’s very annoying this few seconds that we must wait for this button to switch the function from END CALL to LOUDSPEAKER. Specially when your are driving a car and you want to make a handsfree call, it’s very dangerous because you must look the phone screen until the LOUDSPEAKER function is activated. PLEASE CHANGE THIS!!!! I see a lot of Nokia phone with this settings. I really hate that.

    • 9 JimmyMacknl September 28, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      I just updated earlier today, restored my backup file made just prior to flashing, and have now ‘lost’ my google maps, profimail, oggplayer, and more.

      Also, the music player on board doesn’t ‘see’ any of my music on the memory card?

      Not best pleased with this update.

      Also, I had hoped to see my photos back in the gallery, but no, still need file manager to find them :-(

      Any help/suggestions welcome.

      JimmyMack
      The Netherlands.

  6. 10 Zashime July 11, 2010 at 8:34 am

    Nokia E 71 looks like blackberry… I’m still undecided which one I would buy!

    • 11 Lee July 15, 2010 at 10:04 am

      Hi Zashime,

      I have owned all manor of smartphones over the years, I am by no means an expert on any or for that matter linked by any affiliate to any one brand or other.

      I still have both the Nokia E71 and Blackberry Curve 9600 in operation at the moment my preference is the Nokia E71 I just feel more at home using it.

      I have a story about the reliability of the two phones though. My Nokia has had various knocks and bumps over the years that I have owned it. So when my Blackberry fell out of my pocket I thought nothing of it, until I went to use it the screen was smashed the front face was cracked and the metal surround had been dented.

      On the other hand my Nokia decided to jump out of the window of my moving car the other day, as I was going around a corner on a busy road. It had been sat on the dashboard of the car and as I turned it slipped straight out of the window. So I stopped the car as quickly as I could do so. I got out of the car just to see a van run over my E71, fearing the worst my heart was in my mouth and I was thinking how I would get another when another car drove over my E71 aaggghhhhh nnnnooooooo. I dodged other traffic to save my now smashed E71 or so I thought. On retrieval of the phone I saw that the bottom of the facia ( the chin ) had become detached and scratched, but just clipped back in, the metal facia was scratched and dented and the plastic screen cover had a crack in the top right hand side. The phone to my amazement was still functional also the ? key was missing.

      To me the Nokia E71 is the phone that best suits me because it is very functional, it can do almost all the things that the newer touch screen phones can do plus much more and can stand up to the bumps and scrapes that I put my phones through.

  7. 13 onetkaljupri July 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Some issue happen when we restoring setting taken from 300.21.012 sw to a newer sw 500.21.009.. will results to a “Contact the retailer” error

    Just Delete : file\private\100012a\DBS_101F8683_ScShortcutEngine.ini from phone before taking settings backup. If the file is removed then the settings can be restored.. Sw fix is under work.

  8. 14 Lee July 15, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I have just updated the FW of my E71 to the latest 500.21.009 and the only problem that I can see so far is that of the dialog box’s/screens somehow appear behind the active screen, for instance when I do *#0000# the phone bleeps as usual and the screen flickers but nothing appears. Thant and every time I restart my phone I have to delete Lotus Notes Traveller because I don’t use it and it annoys me being on the messaging screen.
    The camera also seems to be a little blurred now, but that could just be me.

    I have read some bad reviews of this update and was very skeptical about installing it but I see no major drawback at all.

    • 15 Bogdan August 1, 2010 at 6:22 am

      I have the problem with “the screen behind the screen” and I have v.300. I still think it’s some app I have installed.

  9. 16 John Snick July 16, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. This is really a great blog.

  10. 17 azzo July 17, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Someone tells that new firmware 500. has a call delay problem in incoming & outcoming calls. I think nokia should fix this bug first of all.

    take a look here: http://discussions.nokia.co.uk/t5/Eseries-and-Communicators/E71-v500-New-firmware-old-bugs/td-p/721511

  11. 18 pmoney10 July 20, 2010 at 10:11 am

    my phone is having problems.(phone startup failed)

  12. 19 dakiro July 28, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    I will skip this update and go for the next one. Cannot be asked to install everything again.

    Can somebody tell me something? I have hacked the phone (actually nice people on the internet told us users how to hack it.) I have many applications on the phone so if I do a backup to a PC and go through with the update, will it be possible to recover my previous set-up when I recover the backup?

    Thanks for any clarification.

  13. 20 Lorie July 30, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    I’ve been trying to update the firmware on my E71. Everytime I try to, Nokia Software Updater keeps telling me it lost connection to the USB device. I follow the steps each time and it just keeps telling me lost connection! What the heck am I doing wrong?!

    • 21 AMIT August 22, 2010 at 6:13 am

      i have same problem,
      I’ve been trying to update the firmware on my E71. Everytime I try to, Nokia Software Updater keeps telling me it lost connection to the USB device. I follow the steps each time and it just keeps telling me lost connection! What the heck am I doing wrong?!

  14. 22 gt July 31, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    a lot of problems confirmed by more and more customers.

    If you didn’t update yet, don’t update!

  15. 23 Huub August 4, 2010 at 9:47 am

    NEW FUNTIONALITIES:
    Following baselines/functionalities have been upgraded.
    • Maps 3.03 Lite which has Free Navigation support
    • Music Player upgrade
    • Quick Office v6.2 which has Office 2007 support
    • Ovi Store upgraded to 1.6.0.18 and Download! Removed
    • Lotus Notes traveler v8.5.1 -> Localization support is present only for 10 languages.

    CHANGES AND IMPROVEMENTS:

    • Windows Live removed from the memory card
    • Ovi Suite included in Memory card
    • CS Helps baseline upgraded to fix localization issues
    • Start Up settings baseline upgraded
    • Ovi Store Link provided in “Set Up Internet Telephony”
    • Download! removed
    GENERAL
    • Portuguese Localization issues fixed
    • Functionality improvements in E-mail configuration
    • Qwerty keypad improvements

    CALL HANDLING
    • Emergency call termination with RSK key corrected
    • Corrected Bluetooth link drop when an outgoing call is made in a carkit

    CALENDAR/CLOCK
    • Fix for Israel written instead of Jerusalem in World Clock
    • Corrected Argentina names issue in World Clock
    • Corrected localization issues in world clock

    BROWSER
    • CMCC Java application download corrected
    • Fix provided for accessing a link that has appended space characters

    EMAIL
    • Fix provided for selecting desired mailbox when multiple mailboxes are configured

    QWERTY KEYBOARD
    • Key mapping issues fixed

    MESSAGING
    • Nokia IM chat: Localization support provided for Malay and Indonesian languages

    Nokia E66 Changelog:

    NEW FUNTIONALITIES:
    Following baselines/functionalities have been upgraded.
    • Maps 3.03 Lite which has Free Navigation support
    • Music Player upgrade
    • Quick Office v6.2 which has Office 2007 support
    • Ovi Store upgraded to 1.6.0.18 and Download! removed
    • Lotus Notes traveler v8.5.1 -> Localization support is present only for 10 languages.

    CHANGES AND IMPROVEMENTS:
    • Windows Live removed from the memory card
    • Ovi Suite included in Memory card
    • CS Helps baseline upgraded to fix localization issues
    • Start Up settings baseline upgraded
    • Ovi Store Link provided in “Set Up Internet Telephony”
    • Download! removed

    CALL HANDLING
    • Emergency call termination with RSK key corrected
    • Corrected Bluetooth link drop when an outgoing call is made in a carkit

    CALENDAR/CLOCK
    • Fix for Israel written instead of Jerusalem
    • Corrected Argentina names issue in World Clock
    • Corrected localization issues in world clock

    BROWSER
    • CMCC Java application download corrected
    • Fix provided for accessing a link that has appended space characters

    EMAIL
    • Fix provided for selecting desired mailbox when multiple mailboxes are configured

  16. 25 E71 User October 4, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Problematic firmware:
    1.Loudspeaker functionality that was fixed at V300 (available immediately when making call) – disappeared. Now you have to wait for the call to engage before using the functionality. V500 returns us to the problems of v200.
    2. Lotus notes – you cannot remove it!!!! you remove it and when you turn off+on the device – it returns….
    Haven’t find any improvement – terribly disappointed

  17. 26 Undecided Man October 13, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Gentlemen, I have a question; perhaps you can help. I’m about to purchase either the E71 or E72, but can’t decide which. Were the software and hardware upgrades on the E72 enough to make up for the lack of beautiful steel case? If price were not an object to you (they’re only $50 different in the US), which would you purchase? Thanks for your help.

    David

  18. 27 Csboura October 15, 2010 at 11:53 am

    My calls drops every time. The “3G” indication changes for a “Y” indication when I start a call (is it normal?).

    But I think it may be a problem caused by the local company (TIM).

  19. 28 yara October 17, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I need to new version update, for my nokia E71, my current version is very simple, is was so many time, hang I won to change, it so please…. Give me a information about how to update my mobile, version . Thanks for making good mobile, e71 is very best and vary easy to users. Thanks again to nokia corporation, real connecting people at right time,

  20. 29 Dum October 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

    I bought an E71 recently and it already had the software version 500.21.009. But I found some keys are not functioning instead they have been shifted. , key and . key are not working but ‘ key has been replaced by , and ? key has been replaced by . . after i contacted my seller he updated my firmware to version 501.21.001 . Is this an unofficial update?? because the latest update that nokia offers is 500.21.009. Please explain….

  21. 30 Kamil November 10, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    I updated mine to firmware 500.Something.Something and it installed on its own lotus traveler, tiger woods golf, chat and lotus mail. I’ve removed each of these as I don’t want or need them, but after a few hours, they appear BACK on the phone. How do these keep getting reinstalled on their own? I’m thinking of doing a hard reset, hopefully that will fix it, but I don’t want to do that. Any solutions???

  22. 31 no essay scholarship November 19, 2010 at 1:28 am

    I can see that you are placing a lots of efforts in to your blog. Keep publishing the good work.A few really helpful information inside. Bookmarked. Nice to visit your site. Thanks!

  23. 32 cs 1.6 November 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I need to new version update, for my nokia E71, my current version is very simple, is was so many time, hang I won to change, it so please…. Give me a information about how to update my mobile, version . Thanks for making good mobile, e71 is very best and vary easy to users. Thanks again to nokia corporation, real connecting people at right time,

  24. 33 hateshg November 28, 2010 at 6:58 am

    hi friends,

    i was updating my nokia firm to latest one, i had lose contac with my pc so its spot in between, after that my software was deleted from my phone. now its is not working. please help me to solve this problem

    hatesh

  25. 34 ami December 17, 2010 at 8:52 am

    if you havnt updated yet then dont update! v500 isnt as fast as v410… i am now trying to downgrade after a week of usage… problems: on some websites the key ‘s’ shuts down my web browser, the lotus app keeps returning every time i restart my phone, chat app wont delete, ovi contacts wont delete, my space app wont delete, i cant copy messages saved on my phone to my memory card or vice versa :(

  26. 35 wazzup January 7, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Another bug here. Keypad auto lock will not stay turned off when the phone lock (password) is turned on.

    Previously, I could just type my password to enter the phone when the keypad auto lock period was set to none, and the phone auto lock period was set to one minute.

    After the upgrade, I must first unlock my phone with * + menu, then enter the password. This despite the fact that autolock keypad is set to none. Annoying.

    Don’t upgrade.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

